How to Log in to the Databases from Off-Campus
You're all set if:
- you're a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.
- you have one of our recommended browsers installed on your computer:
Internet Explorer (version 7.0 or newer)
Firefox (version 3.0 or newer)
see Recommended Browsers page for a complete list.
NOTE: If you're an AOL or CompuServe user, please follow this procedure:
- Get online as usual with AOL or CompuServe.
- Click on the icon on your computer desktop for one of the browsers in 2. (above), and use it as your browser while you access Library journal indexes (just leave AOL/CompuServe connected and running in the background).
How to Find the Database Page:
- Go to the library home page at http://library.csudh.edu/
- Click the "Articles & eResources" tab above the search box in the center of the page.
- Select "Databases by Title" or "Database by Subject" to see a list of databases, and click on the database you wish to use.
- If you're off-campus, you will see a screen that has the following text on it.
Current CSUDH Students, Staff & Faculty, please
login to renew your books and view your library account:
Your UserName (MyCSUDH Account):
Your Password (MyCSUDH pw):
Enter your campus username and your password, then click Submit. Your campus username and password are the same things that you use to acecss your e-mail, blackboard, and to log into computers on campus. If you do not know what these are, you can go to http://my.csudh.edu and click on "Forgot your username?" or "Forgot your password?"
We apologize, but only currently enrolled students, current faculty, and current staff are able to access databases from off-campus. Other users may still log in to renew books online using their library barcode and last name, but are not able to access databases.
TO FIND ARTICLES ON A TOPIC, enter search terms into the search boxes of the database you logged in to and click Search. (Try the tutorial on finding articles about a specific topic.)
TO FIND FULL TEXT OF AN ARTICLE, both in print and in electronic form, when no direct link to the full text of an article is visible in your results:
- Click on the icon at the end of any record where it occurs
TO FIND A SPECIFIC ARTICLE WHEN YOU ALREADY HAVE A CITATION, look for detailed instructions on the Find a Specific Article page.
TO LOCATE AN ARTICLE IN A SPECIFIC JOURNAL, MAGAZINE OR BOOK THAT THE CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form, you can do any of the following:
- Request the article through the "Click HERE to request item from another library" prompt in the small window that tells you "CSUDH Library does not own this item."
- Go to the Interlibrary Loan Request page and fill out and submit the appropriate form to request that the item be obtained for you from another library
- Go to LibWeb, where websites of other academic or large public libraries are listed (you can check their online catalogs or even visit them in person when practical).
Remember that items requested through interlibrary loan usually take a week or more to arrive