csudhlogo csudhlogo csudhlogo
csudh_logo Index Page Search Page CSUDH Home Page csudh_banner csudhlogo
Library Banner

  Find a specific article at the CSUDH Library
       
when you already have the citation!
                    (click here if you're not sure what a citation is)

Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite


 Click on the statement below that best describes your situation (A or B):


A.  I already know which database contains the journal I need...

OR

B.  I'm not sure which database contains the journal I need...





A.  I already know which database contains the journal I need :

Try entering information from the article citation into the Find boxes of that database:


To check for a specific article (e.g.: you found the citation in a syllabus, reading list or bibliography), use:  

       -- the author's last name (or, if more than one author, use the last name listed first)

       -- a distinctive word or phrase from the article title, and

       -- the journal title

e.g.: you think the following article may be found in the database PsycINFO:


Atkinson, Jacqueline, Garner, Helen and Stuart, Susan (2003). The development of potential models of advance directives in mental health care. Journal of Mental Health, 12 (6), 575-584.

  -- log in to PsycINFO

  -- type models of advance directives (a distinctive word or phrase from
    the title of the above article) into the top "Find" text box

  -- click the dropdown box to the right to read TI Title

  -- type Atkinson (author's last name) into the "Find" text box on the 2nd line

  -- click the dropdown box at the end of the second line to read Author.

  -- type Journal of Mental Health (journal title) into the "Find" box on the 3rd line

  -- click the dropdown box at the end of the second line to read Publication title

  -- click the Search button.


  -- if you don't see at least one record with a link to the full text of your article, try procedure B.

Take me back to the top of this page



B. 
I'm not sure which database contains the journal I need :
   

Try entering the title of the journal into the "Search for Titles" box of the University Library Journals List:


To find the CSUDH Journals List:

  -- go to the CSUDH Library web site at http://library.csudh.edu/

  -- click on the red Find Journals & Electronic Resources button.

  -- click the CSUDH Journals List button (3rd button down in row
                         on LH side of screen)


e.g.: you want to locate the following article, but are unsure which database to try:


Hollenberg, Donna. "An interview with Carol Shields." Contemporary Literature 39:3 (1998): 338-356.


  -- on the CSUDH Journals List page, click on I know the title of the journal I want

  -- type the title of the journal (Contemporary Literature) into the Find box.

  -- because the Library subscribes to several databases that contain full text for various dates of     Contemporary Literature, you'll see a page with links to all of those databases as well as
    a link to locations and dates of hard copy in the CSUDH Print/Microfilm Collection.  

  -- when you click on one of the databases that contain your article, you will be taken to
     a list of journal issues from which you may choose the date you need.
  -- if the list contains too many issues to search through or if no list of issues appears, you should look      for the "Search this Journal " or "Search within this publication" button of that database and search for      the article by using the steps in A. above.
  -- sometimes you will simply have to click the "Search" button and search for the article by using the      steps in A. above.

 
-- if you click on CSUDH Print/Microfilm Collection, you'll see a list of dates of your journal and      formats  in which the CSUDH Library owns it. If you see the date you want, visit the Library Reference
     Desk in person to use it.


NOTE: Be sure to type the journal title carefully. Several problems can prevent the Journals List from finding your title:

  -- be sure you typed the journal title, NOT the article title!
  -- if the journal title contains the word "and", either find out whether the      spelling should be "and" or "&", or leave out that word!
  -- don't leave more than one space between words in the journal title
  -- include an apostrophe or other punctuation wherever the journal title      includes it


 -- if the Library does not own the journal you entered, you'll see this message:
     No Titles where the Title contains "journal title".

 If we don't own the journal you need, you can either:

  -- submit an interlibrary loan request for the article
OR

  -- e-mail the citation to our Can't Find It? service.   
        
 Take me back to the top of this page                    



What is a citation?

A citation contains all of the information needed to identify a specific journal article, book, website or other information source.

Citation information is always included in journal index records, but you may also find citations to journal articles in an author's footnotes, list of works cited or in a bibliography.
Scholars and researchers cite sources in their work so others may verify their work, build on it, or examine their subject matter in more depth.

A typical citation for a journal article includes the following pieces of information:


--Article Title
--Author Name(s)
--Journal Name
--Volume Number
--Issue Number
--Publication Date
--Page number(s)

Take me back to the top of this page



Points to Remember:



    Questions? Contact E. Carol Dales / Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional     cdales@csudh.edu   Ph: 310-243-2088            Last revised April 15, 2005