California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
University Library

 


Compiled by:
Francisco Garcia
University Library
Reference Department
Spring 2004


 


 

 

Research Guide

SPANISH AND LATIN AMERICAN LITERATURE

The following list is intended to lead you to sources, which provide useful information relating to Spanish and Latin American Literature. It illustrates the types and variety of sources that are available. Titles located in the Reference section on the second floor are indicated with "REF" before the call number. Additional resources may be found in the Stacks, "Special Collections" and in the "Indexes" sections.  Many other general reference sources on the Internet may be reached from the Reference section computers or from home.

Subject Headings

The University Library uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) list.  The six-volume set may be found at the Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library. Below is a list of sample headings that suggest patterns. Try searching under the following subject headings in ToroFind:
  • Spanish American Drama

  • Spanish American Essays

  • Spanish American Fiction

  • Spanish American Literature
    • --To 1800
    • --20th Century
  • Spanish American Prose Literature
    • --To 1800

  • Spanish Drama

  • Spanish Essays

  • Spanish Farces

  • Spanish Fiction

  • Spanish Language

  • Spanish Literature
    • --To 1500
    • --Classical Period, 1500-1700
    • --18th Century
    • --19th Century
    • --20th Century
    • --History and criticism

Spanish American Love Poetry

     USE Love poetry, Spanish American

Spanish American Mystery Stories
     USE Mystery Stories, Spanish American

Guides to Latin American Literature

Bleznick, Donald William, 1924-
A sourcebook for Hispanic literature and language : a selected, annotated guide to Spanish, Spanish-American, and... 3rd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c1995.  PC4071.Z9 B55 1995

Cortés, Eladio.
Dictionary of Mexican Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992. REF PQ 7106 D53 1992.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: Scribner's/Simon & Schuster Macmillan. 1996. 5 vols. Ref F1406 .E53 1996

Flores, Angel
Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century. New York: The H. W. Wilson Company, 1992. REF 7081.3 F57 1992

Foster, David William.
Argentine literature: a research guide / compiled by David William Foster New York: Garland Pub., 1982 Garland reference library of the humanities; v. 338   PQ7611 Z9 F63 1982

Foster, David William.
Cuban literature: a research guide / David William Foster. New York: Garland Pub., 1985. Garland reference library of the humanities; v. 511.   PQ7371 .Z9 F694 1985

Foster, David William, comp.
Handbook of Latin American Literature
. Compiled by David William Foster. 2nd. Ed. New York: Garland Pub., 1992. PQ7081 .A1 H36 1987

Foster, David William.
Mexican Literature: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981 REF PQ 7141 Z9F63

Foster, David William and Foster, Virginia Ramos, comps.
Manual of Hispanic Bibliography. 2nd ed. New York,: Garland Publishing, 1977. REF PQ 6033 F63 1977

Foster, David William.
Modern Latin American literature / compiled and edited by David William Foster, Virginia Ramos Foster. 2v. New York: Ungar, 1975. REF PQ 7081 F63 1975

Gonzalez Echeverria, Roberto and Pupo-Walker, Enrique, eds.
The Cambridge history of Latin American literature / edited by Roberto González Echevarría and Enrique Pupo-Walker. New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 1996.  PQ7081.A1 C35 1996 v.1

Hill, Marnesba D. and Schleifer, Harold B.
Puerto Rican Authors: A Bibliographic Handbook = Autores Puertorriqueños: Una Guía Bibliográfica. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1974. REF PQ 7424 Z9H48.

Kanellos, Nicolás, ed.
Hispanic Literature of the United States: A Comprehensive Reference. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, c2003. REF PS 153 H56 2003.

Martinez, Julio A., ed.
Dictionary of Twentieth Century Cuban Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990.

Krstovic, Jelena, ed.
Hispanic Literature Criticism. 3v. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1994.

Marting, Diane E.
Spanish American Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1990. REF PQ 7081 Z9S62 1990

Ocampo de Gómez, Aurora and Prado Velázquez.
Diccionario de Escritores Mexicanos. Mexico City: UNAM Centro de Estudios Literarios, 1967. REF PQ 7106 024.

Rela, Walter.
A bibliographical guide to Spanish American literature: twentieth-century sources / compiled by Walter Rela; ... New York : Greenwood Press, c1988.   PQ7081 .Z9 R438 1988

Ryan, Bryan, ed.
Hispanic Writers: A Selection of Sketches from "Contemporary Authors". Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1991. REF PQ 7081 A1H48 1991

Smith, Verity, ed.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. REF PQ 7081 A1E56 1997

Solé, Carlos A. and Abreu, Maria Isabel, eds.
Latin American writers / Carlos A. Sole, editor in chief, Maria Isabel Abreu, associate editor. New York: Scribner, c1989.  REF PQ 7081 A1L37 1989

South America, Central America and the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1985-  .   F1401 .S68

Ward, Philip, ed.
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1978. REF PQ 6006 O93

Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: MLA, 1997. Series: Selected Bibliographies in Language and Literature, 5.   PC4071.Z9 W66 1997

top of page

Indexes and Abstracts

    Academic Search Premier An excellent general-purpose index to over 3500 periodicals, many of them fulltext. Includes information about Spanish language authors and literature.

    Chicano Database Indexes all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American topics from 1967 to the present and, since 1992, materials on other Latino cultures.

    Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Online) Indexes scholarly works on Latin America from 1935 to the present, covering social sciences and humanities in alternating years . Also available in print Indexes Z 1601 .H19L

    Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Indexes Z 1605 .H21 Many articles are not in English.


    Historical Abstracts Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all aspects of world history since 1450 except for the United States.

    JSTOR Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago.

    Literature Resource Center Includes fulltext biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of major Spanish-speaking authors.

    MLA Bibliography Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, folklore, and linguistics from 1963 to the present.

    Project Muse Full-text recent volumes of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Book Reviews

Many book reviews published since 1988 may be identified in Academic Search Premier and the printed indexes:

  • Book Review Digest. New York: Wilson, 1905-  . Indexes Z 1219 .B64

  • Book Review Index. Detroit: Gale, 1965-  . Indexes Z 1035 .A1B65


  • Books in Print with Reviews

 

California State University, Dominguez Hills • 1000 E. Victoria Street • Carson, California 90747 • (310) 243-3696.  Copyright ©2004 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright, please contact copyright@csudh.edu.  The statements found on the (departments /college / auxiliary) Web page are for informational purposes only. While every effort is made to ensure that this information is up to date and accurate, official information can be found in the University Catalog and Class Schedule.

, by vm.