CSUDH Resources
CSUDH Library CatalogueList of Databases (A-Z)
List of journals (A-Z)
List of journals (by subject)
List of Online Newspapers
How to Cite Sources
Other Resources
Types of Information SourcesHow to Write a Literature Review
Evaluating Information on the Web
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resources
Avoiding Plagiarism
Define Keywords: You do not need to include the article and the prepositions
Example: Your topic is "Communicating with Parents"
Keywords: COMMUNICATION - PARENTS - MODERATE DISABILITY
Academic Search Premiere: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.
JSTOR: JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
ERIC (Education)ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
PsycINFO: PsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law
This guide to the APA style was prepared by the librarians at Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN. (http://www.gustavus.edu/oncampus/academics/library/) Used and modified with permission.
In-text References
- Provide author, year of publication, and page for specific quotations.
- Use the author’s name in the text or include it with the year in parentheses separated by comma: Chen (2000) asserted… or (Chen, 2000).
- In subsequent in-text reference, use author but not year.
- When a work has two authors cite both names and the year; for three to five authors, cite all authors in first reference with the year and for subsequent references use first author followed by et al.
- When a work has no author, cite the first words in the reference entry and year. If an article, put words in quotes, if a book, use italics.
Reference List
An article in a print journal:
Author's last name, First initial. (date). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume, pages.
Goldberg , S.C. (2001). Testimonially based knowledge from false testimony.
Philosophical Quarterly, 51 , 512-526.
A full-text article from an electronic database:
Author's last name, First initial. (date). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume, pages. Retrieved date, from Name of database.
Kebbell, M., Wagstaff, G., & Covey, J.A. (1996). The Influence of item difficulty on the
relationship of eyewitness confidence and accuracy. British Journal of Psychology,
87, 653+. Retrieved February 2, 2002 from Expanded Academic ASAP database.
A Web site:
Last name, first initial. (date). Title of site. Retrieved date, from Web address
Jones, C.L. ABZU: Guide to resources for the study of the ancient Near East available
on the Internet. Retrieved February 2, 2002 from the University of Chicago Oriental
Institute Web site: http://www-oi.uchicago.edu/OI/DEPT/RA/ABZU/ ABZU.HTML
A page within a Web site:
Last name, first initial. (date). Title of page. In Title of site. Retrieved date, from Web address
The Fugitive slave act, 1850. (2002, January 2). In The Avalon project at the Yale
Law School . Retrieved from http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/fugitive.htm
A book:
Last name, First initial. (date). Title of book. Place: Publisher.
Loury, G.C. (2002). The Anatomy of racial inequality. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.
An essay in a book:
Last name, First initial. (date). Title of essay. In Title of book (pages). Place: Publisher.
Said, E. (2000). The Politics of knowledge. In Reflections on exile and other
essays (pp. 372-385). Cambridge: Harvard University Press.
