California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website
University Library

 

Information Resources for SOC 380 - Urban Sociology

Prepared by Valeria E. Molteni vmolteni@csudh.edu - (310) 243-3184
February 2008 Photos by R. Downs

 

Types of Information sources

 

Books Catalog

 

Databases

 

Journals

 

Statistics

 

Newspapers

 

Evaluation of Internet

 

Searching on Internet

 

Plagiarism

 

Citation styles

 

 

 

 

How to search: Search Options

 

Define the topic: Try to be specific

Define keywords: You do not need to include the article and the prepositions

Example: Your topic is "Minorities and the urban development of Los Angeles"

Keywords: URBAN DEVELOPMENT - LOS ANGELES - MINORITIES

DATABASES

Begining of the Research

Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.

CQ Researcher Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Opposing Viewpoints Virtual library of resources to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues. The database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Full text coverage begins from varies years with the earliest from January 1993 to present.

Specific Databases

SocIndex (Sociology Research Database) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers.

Antrosource Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. 

Chicano Database The Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Citations only.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

JSTOR JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Handbook of Latin American Studies The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook . Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

ERIC (Education) ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. 

General Library Hours (Holiday , summer and intersession hours posted)

•  Monday - Thursday: 7 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 7 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.

Reference Desk Hours ( 310- 243-3715 )

•  Monday -Thursday: 8 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m.- 5 p.m .

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.