California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library

University Library

Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website

CSUDH University Library

Information Resources for SOC 322 - The Social Environment of Education

Library Home Page

Print version

Prepared by Valeria E. Molteni vmolteni@csudh.edu - (310) 243-3184
October 2007 Photos by R. Downs

 

Types of Information sources

 

Books Catalog

 

Databases

 

Journals

 

Statistics

 

Newspapers

 

Evaluation of Internet

 

Plagiarism

 

Citation styles

 

 

 

 

How to search: Search Options

 

Define the topic: Try to be specific

Define keywords: You do not need to include the article and the prepositions

Example: Your topic is "Parent support and academic achivement in high school minorities students"

Keywords: PARENT SUPPORT - MINORITIES - HIGH SCHOOL

 

DATABASES:

Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.

ERIC (Education) ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. 

SocIndex (Sociology Research Database) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers. 

JSTOR JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

General Library Hours (Holiday , summer and intersession hours posted)

•  Monday - Thursday: 7 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 7 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.

Reference Desk Hours ( 310- 243-3715 )

•  Monday -Thursday: 8 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m.- 5 p.m .

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.