CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
 |
Sports and Physical Education
Prepared by: Caroline
Bordinaro, Librarian cbordinaro@csudh.edu
310-243-2084 |
|
Go to: Finding Journals
Online
Finding Books and Journals in the Library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library
Catalog at http://library.csudh.edu/CSUDHcatalog.php and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. The library has an extensive
print collection of sports journals and magazines, which you can search for
either by title or subject.
- try an Exact title / beginning
of title search on the name of the sport or History of
[your sport]
- try a Library of Congress
Subjects search on [Your Sport] history or Sports
periodicals
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles,
try an
on a few
keywords (in separate boxes).
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference
librarian.
Finding Journal Articles
NOTE: to
access any of our subscription databases from home, please see our Remote Patron
Access Instructions (http://library.csudh.edu/troubleshoot/RPAInstructions.php)
guide for login
procedures.
Journal indexes must be accessed through these
links:
-
-
OR
Where to find information on
various sports topics:
- Sports Medicine/Physical Therapy: Factiva,
ProQuest Medical Library/ProQuest Nursing Journals, EbscoHost EJS, Academic
Search Premier, , Wilson OmniFile, Lexis-Nexis
- Women in Sports: Academic Search Premier, Wilson OmniFile, MAS
Ultra, Gender Watch
- Sports Business: Academic Search Premier, Wilson OmniFile, Business
Resource Premier
- Science and Sports: Science Direct, Academic Search
Premier, Wilson OmniFile
- Sports Law: Lexis-Nexis
- Sports Pedagogy: Academic Search Premier
- Current News: Academic Search Premier, Wilson OmniFile, Lexis-Nexis
- Multi/Other subjects: Academic Search Premier, Wilson OmniFile,
Lexis-Nexis
Recommended Online Indexes:
- Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles: Covers all
aspects of amateur and professional sports and research collections.
Collection includes: The official report of every modern Olympic Games. Dozens
of periodical titles such as Sports Illustrated, The Sporting News, Ring,
Women's Sports and Fitness, the Journal of Sport History, Research Quarterly ,
Street & Smith annuals and Track & Field News . All articles in
full-image (PDF) format.
- Factiva: A Dow Jones/Wall street Journal partnership,
this multi-subject database indexes titles such as the Journal of Physical
Education, Recreation & Dance, Women's Sports and Fitness, Sports Afield,
and Interactive Sports Wire, and also includes such lesser-known titles as the
ANSA - Sports News Service, the Australian Associated Press - Sports News and
Sports Argus. Use for sports business, law and news.
- MASUltra: indexes many varied sports titles, such as Sailing World,
Sports Illustrated, Sports of Mexico, and Swimming World
- Business Resource Premier*: several key journals and magazines.
Also includes a collection of sports industry profiles (such as equipment,
drinks, etc.)
- Lexis-Nexis: especially useful for sports law journals and reviews
- Academic Search Premier*: includes several sports
education journals, such as Teaching Elementary Physical Education and the
Journal of Teaching in Physical Education
- ProQuest Medical Library/ProQuest Nursing Journals: large
collection of sports medicine, physical therapy, rehabilitation and
kinesiology journals
- Science Direct: many journals that focus on exercise and motion
studies
- Wilson OmniFile*: indexes many titles dealing with a wide variety
of sports-related issues
Recommended Journals
- Journal of Physical Education,
Recreation & Dance (Factiva)
- International Journal of Physical
Education (Wilson OmniFile)
- International Sports Journal (Academic
Search Premier)
- Research Quarterly for Exercise and
Sport (CSUDH Library or ProQuest Medical Library)
- Physical Fitness Research Digest
(CSUDH Library)
- American Journal of Sports Medicine
(EBSCOhost EJS)
- Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical
Fitness (CSUDH Library or ProQuest Medical/Nursing)
- Women's Sports and Fitness (Factiva)
*To limit search to peer-reviewed journals
only, look for check box next to Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Journals, or
Academic Journals on database search screen (may be in Advanced
Search)
BONUS!! Try our new
SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude,
librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Search Tips:
- Try Advanced Search for more search options
- Always look for and use the Print
and Save functions embedded within the screen. It is usually not a good idea
to use the File-Print or File-Save As functions in the upper left hand corner
of the browser.
- Put search phrases "in quotes",
or combine keywords with AND, OR, NOT
- Use the online HELP screens - they really are
helpful!
Finding articles on the web (for free!)
- Heracles
database : Produced by SPORTDOC, originally a French-language
database containing bibliographic information on sport, physical activity, and
leisure. It contains citations to books, magazine articles, theses, research
works, conference proceedings and audiovisual products.
- SportScan
Database from NSIC : from the Australian National Sport
Information Center, the SportScan database lists key articles, published since
the mid-1980s, found in Australian and international sports journals.
- PubMed: a
free citation index from the National Library of Medicine that covers all
aspects of sports medicine, sports injuries, rehabilitation and physical
therapy. WARNING: this database is written for and used by medical
practitioners - not for the faint-hearted or easily-confused.
Go to: Finding Books |
Finding Journals
Online
Created by C.
Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 7/11/07