California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
University Library    





CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Administrative Public Policy: PUB 304

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales

(310) 243-2088

 









 

Go to: Books | Journal Articles | Electronic Books |Thesaurus | Specific Article |
| Interlibrary Loan
| Internet | | Citing articles | Summary of searching | |

 

 




Books

Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you to directly request books from other libraries ("All CSUs Catalog" and LINK+ buttons). Links are provided below for other local libraries and libraries worldwide.



Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles, use one of the journal article indexes (you'll also hear us call them electronic databases
or just "databases").

To use CSUDH databases when you're off campus: 

1.  You must be a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.

2.  Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) must be installed on
      your computer.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format;
      you need Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them
.
      Get the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader free at       http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  • For detailed information on how to log in to CSUDH Electronic databases, click here.
  • Be sure to click on the "Check Availability" link (or the blue "Check Availability" icon)
    whenever it accompanies the abstract of an article you want in full text.
  • For an overview of how to use CSUDH databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look on the database search screen for
    the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside these words.

  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list
    of Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH databases.

 

    • Business Source Premier: Business research database with full text for more than 8,800 publications, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications; ample coverage of issues
      in
      public administration, government policy, civil service, labor unions, city planning and more! Includes
      full text of Business Week (1996 to date) and Fortune (1992 to date).

    • Academic Search Premier: Multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,650 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it covers a wide range of subject areas.

    • Ebsco Databases: Use this link when you want easy access to this publisher's databases in
      multiple subject areas.


    • LEXIS-NEXIS: Good general business and news database (all content is in HTML plain text format).

    • Los Angeles Times: full text from 1988 to date.
    • Los Angeles Times Historical: Full text and graphics from 1881- 1986.

    • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service): locate citations and abstracts of public and social policy literature. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical information worldwide; a few full text links.

    • ProQuest Newsstand: locate full text newspaper and magazine articles in 1500 worldwide business periodicals; human resources, finance, management, computers, and more; also links to 300+ U.S. & int'l. newspapers. Inclues full text of Wall Street Journal from 1984 to date.

    • Want to link to many more management-oriented databases??
      For a complete list of links, go to theLibrary's Business Subject Page.

Back to top



Electronic Books

When you check the Torofind catalog for books, you will see in the record of any book available as an ebook
(online electronic book) a clickable link to its website (if you are off campus, you may be prompted to log
in with your last name and 14 digit barcode ID number).

You can also go directly to the Electronic Books page for links to Ebrary (scholarly books) as well as
netLibrary
(also scholarly books), Gale reference books and more!


Back to top



Thesaurus ( locates correct subject headings to use in your search
)       
      

  • Locate a Thesaurus button or link on the screen (it may be called "Subject Headings"
    or "Subject Index", depending on the database you are using.
    )
    Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading into the appropriate box.

    Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that defines the term
    as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower, broader and related terms.
  • Either copy down useful subject headings or cut and paste them into the
    search screen where you are working.


    Back to top


Finding a Specific Journal Title

If you already have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library subscribes to the journal you need by using the CSUDH Journals List.
This list includes both print and online journals.
The Library currently subscribes to over 25,000 journals online.

For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the Find a Specific Article tutorial.

Back to top

 


Interlibrary Loan

         If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal, magazine or book that you need,
fill out
the appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  and submit an electronic request.

               A print or electronic copy of that article will be obtained from another
               library, but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.

              OR

   - go to the Library Online Catalogs and Information page at 
           http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/libraries.htm to look for holdings at other academic libraries
          you can visit in person (such as other CSU libraries).      
    
   
 Back to top



The Internet

Google is still an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are doing,
    it will lead you to millions of web pages on sociology research and its hundreds of subtopics.

Three tips:



Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used.

Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know what information about each information source to write down before you begin your research.
It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make note cards
as you are working to keep track of sources of information you use while doing your research.


Always check with your professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.



Back to top





Summary of Searching (applies to most databases)

  • Enter your search terms. Focus your search by choosing a Field Code from the All Fields drop-list on each line you use. 
    e.g.: to search for the subject "rape", enter it in the Find field, and select SU-Subject.
    Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields.
  • Use the * (truncation symbol) and the? (wild card) symbol as required to include multiple forms and spellings of search terms.
  • Connect multiple search terms with connector words (AND, OR, NOT) to create
    a very broad or a very narrow search.

  • Tip: Put all OR search terms that belong together (e.g. rape OR assault OR  sexual aggression)              
     into the same Find box on one line.

  • Select other appropriate search limiters and "broadeners" (usually provided in databases with check boxes
    just below boxes where you enter your search terms).


    Back to top


Last updated 03/03/08 by
E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088