American Institutions POL 101 LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: Resources for Political Science 101: American Institutions
California State University Dominguez Hills
    
310-243-3715
Picture of Library


LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: RESOURCES FOR

American Institutions : POL 101


 


Go to:| Where to start | Borrowing books | Locating Books | Journal Articles |
| Databases | Interlibrary Loan | Internet | Citing sources |

 

 



Begin your research with the resources below or, if you are an experienced researcher,
   on the CSUDH Library home page.

Back to Top





Borrowing Books:

If you plan to borrow books from the CSUDH LIbrary, take a close look at the
     regulations on the Circulation/Borrowing Books page.

Note that to borrow books you will need both :
        your CSUDH picture ID with proof of current registration
        and
        one other photo ID (such as drivers licence).



Back to Top

 


Locating Books:

Use ToroFind Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC).

Use either your own keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings
to look for
books on your topic.
Libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe the contents  
of books and other materials listed in the library catalog.

For instance:

*
Latin America -- Emigration and immigration
* Prisoners -- Education -- United States
*
Public welfare -- United States
* Referendum -- United States
* United States -- Politics and government -- 2001--
* Right and left (Political science) -- History

Leave out dashes and commas when you type a search into the catalog.

          Ask Library Reference staff if you're not sure what to look under for books on your topic!

  • Ebrary is a database of electronic books on a variety of topics geared to academic libraries and college
    students.
    Books available in this collection are not yet listed in the ToroFind Catalog.


Back to Top



Locating Journal and Newspaper Articles:

To find articles on a particular topic, use a special index called
    an electronic database.

Some terms you should know before you search in electronic databases:

PERIODICAL: a paper or electronic publication that is issued on a regular basis
(quarterly, monthly, weekly, daily, etc.).

DATABASE: an organized collection of information, especially electronic information.

JOURNAL (also called SCHOLARLY JOURNAL): scholarly publication published for
an academic audience; narrow focus, deeply researched, all articles approved before publication by a group of experts working in the same field as the author (this approval process is called peer review)

MAGAZINE: publication with popular interest articles and broad subject coverage.

CITATION: the basic information you need to find or cite the full text of an article;
includes article title, author's name, name of publication, date, volume & issue no.
and page numbers.

ABSTRACT: a brief summary of the main content of an article

FULL TEXT: the complete article



Two things you need to use CSUDH article databases off campus:

1. You must already be registered as a CSUDH Library user. (This should happen
    automatically when you register for classes, but please let us know if you
    think you may not yet be registered as a Library user
).


2.
You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) installed.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
      and you absolutely must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
      Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at       http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html


 
Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or, to see
    all available CSUDH Library databases use our complete list of
    Journal Article Indexes .

 If you need help logging in to CSUDH databases, click here .

 For a review of how to use the databases to find journal articles,
    click here.


 To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words
    "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box
    beside these words.

 To find out whether a specific journal observes the peer review process,
    check its title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory Online.

 

Back to Top



 

    HOW TO FIND & LOG IN TO CSUDH LIBRARY ELECTRONIC JOURNAL INDEXES:

  • go to the Library Home Page at http://library.csudh.edu/.
  • under Find Library Materials click Journal Articles & Electronic Resources.
  • if you already know which index you want, click the "Alphabetical List." button
        (Academic Search Premier is a good database to search first).
  • if you need suggestions about which database to search, click "Subject List."
  • when you click on the title of an index to log in to, you'll see this screen:

csudhlogo

csudhlogo

csudhlogo

  Please Login in order to access the article indexes/databases:

The resources you have requested are available only to authorized CSUDH users (currently employed CSUDH faculty or staff members, or currently enrolled students).

Step 1. Please enter your last name :

Your Name:

 

 

Step 2. Please Type your barcode number (20550XXXXXXXXX) omitting spaces & letters

 

What is your barcode number : Your barcode ID number is the 14-digit number made up of 5-digit number 20550 followed by your 9-digit ID number.
Example: 20550982340006
(please do not use spaces, dashes or hyphens).

 

 

 

 


      Recommended Electronic Databases for Essay Research:

  • Academic Search Premier: interdisciplinary database with indexing, abstracts and high
    percentage
    of full text articles from several hundred journals in political science; also covers
    other social sciences.

  • JSTOR contains the full text for scholarly journals, including over 40 in the field of political science
    and many more in related fields; full-text is usually provided from volume one up to about five
    years ago.


  • ProQuest Newspapers: searches the full-text of over 500 national and international newspapers
    written in English, including Los Angeles Times and New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and
    London Times; also provides a separate link to the Los Angeles Times database for articles
    from 1985 to date.

  • Los Angeles Times Historical: a searchable index of newspaper articles from 1881 to 1985;
    provides .pdf articles images of individual articles and the full page of the newspaper, access
    to every page of all available newspapers, including photograhs, advertisements, and obituaries
    not found in other databases.

  • CQ Researcher Online: objective and balanced treatment of current issues and hot topics; each
    12,000 word report by an experienced journalist examines all sides of an issue and includes charts,
    graphs, sidebar articles as well as a chronology, extensive bibliography and a list of contacts.


  • CQ Weekly: news on Congress, government, politics and public policy. Topics include defense,
    economics, foreign policy, health, education, welfare, and more. Look here for clear summaries
    of legislation. Use the Search Articles interface for a more accurate search.


  • PAIS International: Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations; includes some
    government publications.


  • SocIndex includes indexing, abstracts and some full-text articles in all areas of the
    social sciences, including over 150 political science journals.
     

Back to Top




•  Once you are successfully logged in to a journal index, read the instructions   
    (Help screen) to figure out how the database works.

•  Now do a keyword search or a subject search in the database you logged into.

•  To develop an effective search: look at your topic or research question and pull out
    the keywords. Then think of possible synonyms for each of the keywords.    
   For example : Should inmates receive a free college education while in prison?

KEYWORDS

prisoners

education

free

SYNONYM

inmates

college

state expense

Your search then becomes: prisoners and education and free,
but you may want to try another search with inmates and college and state expense.

•  If the journal article database has a Thesaurus or Subject Guide, look there to find correct
    search terms for your topic.

•  Another strategy: when doing a keyword search, try to find one article that is exactly   what you need.
  Look at its subject terms and re-do search with those subject terms.

•  Did you find too many articles?

•  Use more specific search terms.

•  Limit by language, publication, date, full text, peer reviewed.

•  Use controlled vocabulary (look in the database subject guide or thesaurus).

•  Narrow your search with AND.

 

•  Did you find too few articles? None? Out-of-context?

•  Use different search terms, synonyms, alternate terms and phrases.

•  Check your spelling.

•  Use truncation (child* = child, child's, children and other words that begin     with child).

•  Broaden your search by joining synonyms with OR.

•  Search a different journal database.

•  Ask for help!!!

Back to Top



 Tips for using JSTOR:

- use Advanced Search (not Basic or Expert Search).

- if you want only journal articles, check beside "Journal Articles" (below "Narrow your   search to...")
to eliminate reviews and opinion pieces.

- unless you want to search journals from all disciplines, remember to select from These   Discipline(s) and / or Journal(s) to Search before you click Search .

- default search is Full-Text; JSTOR has no subject headings or thesaurus,
but you can limit to Abstract, Title, Caption or Author to refine your results (best to avoid Abstract as fewer than 10% of JSTOR articles have abstracts)

- Truncation: search for the singular and plural forms of a word by placing & (the ampersand on
your keyboard, made by typing Shift 7) at the end of the singular form.

- Proximity Operators: find terms within a specific number of words of each other using double quotes around the two words followed immediately by tilde ( ~ ) as a proximity operator and a numeral. E.g.: to search for an item with the terms prisoners and education within ten words of each other: e.g.: "prisoners education "~10 .
Use this tip to achieve more precise results when searching the full text of long articles.

- Relevance of Terms: increase the importance of any term in your search by using the caret symbol
( ^ ) followed by a number ("the boost factor"). e.g: example, the query: prisoners^3 education gives instances of the word prisoners in a document three times more weight than the word education
(also helpful when searching the full text of long articles).

- all articles are in .pdf format and require that a recent version of Adobe Acrobat Reader be installed on your computer (http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html)

- use the Print /Save icons on top toolbar of Adobe Acrobat Reader, closest to the article full text (using Browser File /Save /Print menu commands produces flawed copies)


- Click TIPS in the red toolbar across the top of the JSTOR screen for more useful hints.


Back to Top



Interlibrary Loan
(Request item from another library):
     

     LINK+ allows you to request a book using a joint catalog of participating libraries in California
and Nevada. If a book is found and available, this is the fastest method of having a book sent to
the CSUDH Library for pick-up.  
Note: books requested through LINK+ usually arrive within 3 to 5 days.

         If LINK+ does not have a book you need, or if you need a journal article the CSUDH Library
does not own,
submit an electronic request by filling out and submitting the appropriate online
ILL
form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm.
 
A print or electronic copy of the requested item will be obtained from another library,
but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.
        
     

         Back to Top    


  
Internet Resources:


Evaluate any websites you plan to use in your paper for high quality and reliability of the information.

What to look for:

1. Credibility (Who said this? Will the author stand behind this information?)
2. Accuracy (Where did this come from? Does it seem correct?)
3. Reasonableness (What kind of page is this?)
4. Support (Who else says this?)


For a more detailed version, visit the CSUDH Library "Evaluating Information You Find on the Web"
page at http://library.csudh.edu/Evaluatinginfo.htm.
For a more complex set of website evaluation criteria, try: Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages.


To find web sites which may be of value for research papers, use Google Advanced Search and limit the domain to .edu or (for political science courses) try .gov.
Google Scholar
helps you to search the scholarly literature, including peer reviewed articles, to figure out
"what's out there", but you usually will not be able to freely access the full text of the article.
For scholarly literature, the databases listed above will usually be a better option for beginning your research.

 

Back to Top




Citing Your Sources:

When you write a paper or complete a project for a class, you will usually be asked to include a bibliography (a list of reference materials such as books and articles you used in your research).
This helps interested readers locate resources you used and helps you avoid plagiarism.

The Library's Citation Guide shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in APA, MLA,
and Turabian formats.
Check it in advance so you'll know before you begin your research what information about each information source to gather.
Make notes as you are doing research to keep track of sources of information you use.

Check with each professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.

           Back to Top

  • California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
    Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
    please contact copyright@csudh.edu

    Last updated 09/18/07 by E. Carol Dales
    Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
    California State University, Dominguez Hills
    (310) 243-2088
    Untitled Document