CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
Critical Reasoning (PHI 120)
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu (310)243-2084
Go to: Finding Books |
Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites | Citation Style
Guides | Library Guides
Concepts and
questions for beginning research:
- Where to Start?
- What's your research question?
- What information do you need to find?
- Who cares about the same information?
(e.g.: researchers, historians, government, etc.)
- What kind of information do they need?
- Where would they get it?
- Types of information available
- Books
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
- Websites
- Terms you need to know before searching for articles
- DATABASE: An organized collection of
information, especially electronic information
- such as online journal articles e.g: Academic Search Premier
- JOURNAL (also SCHOLARLY
JOURNAL): Scholarly publication, articles usually reviewed
by experts in the field before publication; published for an academic
audience; narrow focus; deeply researched e.g.; American Journal of
Psychology
- MAGAZINE: Publication of general interest:
popular interest and broad subjects (e.g: Psychology Today)
- ABSTRACT: a brief summary of the main
content of an article
- FULL TEXT: the complete article
- CITATION: the basic information you need to
find the full text of an article. Includes
- Search Concepts
- Boolean operators
- 1. AND: Adidas AND marketing
2. OR: Adidas OR Nike
3. NOT:
Adidas NOT shoes
- Phrase searching"" ( "Nike Sportswear of America")
- USE THE HELP SCREENS
Search Tips:
- Try Advanced Search for more search options
- Always use the Print and Save functions embedded within the screen. It is
usually not a good idea to use the File-Print or File-Save As functions in the
upper left hand corner of the browser.
- Use the online HELP screens - they really are helpful!
BONUS!! Try our new
SEARCH TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send
comments to Jeff Broude, librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific
call number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few
keywords (in separate boxes).
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference librarian.
- Recommended reference books:
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy - REF B41 E5
- Encyclopedia of Religion - REF BL31 E46 1987
- New Encyclopedia of Judaism - REF BM50 E63
2002
Go to: Finding
Websites | Citation Style
Guides | Library Guides
Magazine, journal and newspaper articles online
NOTE: These are subscription
databases, selected and provided specifically for CSUDH students.
To access from home, please see our Remote Patron Access Instructions guide for login
instructions.
Recommended indexes:
- Philosopher's Index : covers the areas of
ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and
metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion,
science, history, education, and language.
- America History and Life : indexes over 2000
journals on American History.
- JSTOR: Peer reviewed journal articles on a wide
range of Humanities subjects.
- Historical Abstracts: World history from 1450 to
the present.
- Humanities Full Text: Scroll down list to find
database name.
These indexes are not specifically philosophy related, but they are very good
for information on general and current subjects:
- Britannica Online (use this link) : the
online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Search on your topic or subject.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- Project Muse: a multi-subject scholarly article index
- CQ Researcher: complete reports on controversial topics
and federal legislation
- WilsonWeb: OmniFile Full-Text Mega: Another multi-subject
index. Lots of full-text.
Citation Guides
Use these guides to aid you in citing journal articles, book chapters,
websites, and any other material you use for an assignment.
Finding quality websites
These are indexes to quality web sites that have been reviewed by librarians.
The sites have been checked for accuracy, timiliness, stabilty, and will
generally conform to the standards of academic research. However, please be
judicious in the use of websites in general, because anybody can put anything on
the web.
For more detailed help, download our LIBRARY GUIDES (.doc format)
:
Go to:
Beginning
Research
|
Finding
Books | Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals
| Finding
Websites