Journal Articles
To find journal articles when you don't already have a specific citation or reference to an article,
try one of the article indexes (you'll also hear us call them databases).
Two things you need to use CSUDH databases off campus:
1. You must already be registered as a CSUDH Library user. This should happen automatically when you register for classes, but please let us know if you think you may not be registered.
2. You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) installed.
Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
and you absolutely must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html
Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of
Journal Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH Library databases.
For a review of how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here.
To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed '
and place a check in the box beside these words.
To discover whether a specific journal observes the peer review process, check its title in
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Online.
- LEXIS-NEXIS
A full-text only database containing almost 6000 news, business, legal, and medical publications as well as full text of major ADR publications such as Journal of Dispute Resolution. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
- Business Source Premier
Business research database with full text for more than 8,800
publications, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed
business publications; covers workplace and labor issues; good source for
research on conflict and dispute resolution in business venues.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,650 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it covers a wide range of subject areas.
- PsycINFO
Comprehensive database covering a wide range of related fields, including articles on conflict resolution, mediation and negotiation in a variety of contexts.
- CQ Researcher
Focuses on current issues and hot topics. Each issue provides background, current situation, pros and cons, chronology, the outlook, and a bibliography; a good place to start if you need a general overview of a current issue.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides newspaper, magazine and journal and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
If researching ethnic populations, you may find additional perspectives because of unique resources
it indexes.
- JSTOR
Contains full text for long back runs of scholarly journals in fields of political science, history and international
relations, including Journal of Conflict Resolution and Journal of Peace Research.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service):
Locate citations and abstracts of public and social policy literature. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical information worldwide; a few full text links.
- ProQuest Newsstand:
Find full text newspaper and magazine articles in 1500 worldwide business periodicals; human resources, finance, management, computers, and more; also links to 300+ U.S. & int'l. newspapers.
- OJPCR:
The Online Journal of Peace and Conflict Resolution :
Useful resource for students, teachers and practitioners in fields relating to the reduction and elimination of destructive conflict (Note: this is NOT a peer reviewed publication!).
|