California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
University Library    





CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Negotiation and Conflict Resolution Seminar:
Research Design and Interpretation NCR 507

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales

(310) 243-2088

 









 

Go to: Books | Journal Articles | Electronic Books |Thesaurus | Specific Article |
| Interlibrary Loan
| Internet | | Citing articles | Literature Review | Summary of searching | Handout |

 

 




Books

Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you to directly request books from other libraries ("All CSUs Catalog" and LINK+ buttons). Links are provided below for other local libraries and libraries worldwide.



Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles, use one of the journal article indexes (you'll also hear us call them electronic databases or just "databases").

To use CSUDH databases when you're off campus: 

1.  You must be a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.

2.  Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) must be installed on
      your computer.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format;
      you need Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them
.
      Get the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader free at       http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  • For detailed information on how to log in to CSUDH Electronic databases, click here.
  • For an overview of how to use CSUDH databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside these words.
  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH databases.

 

    • PsycINFO
      Comprehensive database covering a wide range of related fields, including articles on conflict resolution, mediation and negotiation in a variety of contexts.
    • Business Source Premier
      Business research database with full text for more than 8,800 publications, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications; covers workplace and labor issues; g
      ood source for research on conflict and dispute resolution in business venues.
    • Academic Search Premier
      Multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,650 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it covers a wide range of subject areas.

    • Ebsco Databases
      Use this link when you want easy access to databases in multiple subject areas.
    • LEXIS-NEXIS
      Good general business and news database; also use for law bulletins, reviews and journals, treaties and international agreements (all content in HTML plain text format).
    • CQ Researcher
      Focuses on current issues and hot topics. Each issue provides background, current situation, pros and cons, chronology, the outlook, and a bibliography; a good place to
      start if you need a quick general overview of a current issue.
    • Ethnic NewsWatch
      Provides newspaper, magazine and journal and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press; offers additional perspectives to researchers because of ethnic populations and unique resources indexed.
    • JSTOR
      Contains full text for long back runs of scholarly journals in fields of political science, history and international
      relations, including Journal of Conflict Resolution and Journal of Peace Research.

    • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service): locate citations and abstracts of public and social policy literature. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical information worldwide; a few full text links.
    • ProQuest Newsstand: locate full text newspaper and magazine articles in 1500 worldwide business periodicals; human resources, finance, management, computers, and more; also links to 300+ U.S. & int'l. newspapers.

Back to top



Electronic Books

When you check the Torofind catalog for books, you will see in the record of any book available as an ebook (online electronic book) a clickable link to its website (if off campus, you may be prompted to log
in with your last name and 14 digit barcode ID number).

You can also go directly to the Electronic Books page for links to Ebrary (scholarly books) as well as netLibrary (more scholarly books), Gale reference books and more!


Back to top



Thesaurus ( locates correct subject headings to use in your search
)       
      

  • Locate a Thesaurus button or link on the screen (it may be called "Subject Headings"
    or "Subject Index", depending on the database you are using.
    )
  • Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading
    into the appropriate box.
  • Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that
    defines the term as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower,
    broader
    and related terms.
  • Either copy down useful subject headings or cut and paste them into the
    search screen where you are working.


    Back to top


Finding a Specific Journal Title

If you have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library subscribes to the journal you need by using the CSUDH Journals List. This list includes both print and online journals. The Library currently subscribes to over 25,000 journals online.

For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the Find a Specific Article tutorial.

Back to top

 


Interlibrary Loan

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal, magazine or book that you need,
fill out
the appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  and submit an electronic request.

               A print or electronic copy of that article will be obtained from another
               library, but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.

              OR

   - go to the Library Online Catalogs and Information page at 
           http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/libraries.htm to look for holdings at other academic libraries
          you can visit in person (such as other CSU libraries)      
    
    Back to top



The Internet

Google is still an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are doing,
    it will lead you to millions of web pages on sociology research and its hundreds of subtopics.

Three tips:



Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used.
Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know what information about each information source to write down before you begin your research.
It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make note cards
as you are working to keep track of sources of information you use while doing your research.

Citing Your Sources

Our web page, How to Cite Your Sources in a Research Paper, has two links.
The first link takes you to a download page for the Adobe Acrobat Reader, which you will need
to access the actual web page.
The second link leads to a document that shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in
APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.


Always check with your professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.


Back to top



Doing a Literature Review

•  What is a literature review?

•  It is an account of what has been published on a topic by recognized scholars and researchers, and is frequently a required part of the introduction to an essay, research report or thesis.

•  The literature review should communicate to your reader what knowledge and ideas have been established on a topic, and what their strengths and weaknesses are.

•  As you plan, let yourself be guided by your own research objective, the problem or issue you are discussing, or your argumentative thesis.

•  What are the characteristics of a good literature review?

The literature review is far more than a descriptive list of resources you found on a topic. It should:

•  be organized into sections that present themes or identify trends and also relate to your
    research question

•  synthesize results into a summary of what is and is not known

•  identify areas of controversy in the literature

•  formulate questions that need further research.

•  How can I choose what to include?

Ask yourself these questions about each book or article you include:

•  Has the author stated a problem or issue? Is it clearly defined?

•  Is the significance (scope, urgency, relevance) of the problem clearly established?

•  Does the author evaluate the literature relevant to the problem or issue?

•  Does the author include literature representing positions she or he does not agree with?

•  If the article or book is about a research study, is the study well designed and executed?

•  Does this book or article contribute to our understanding of the problem or issue?

•  How does this book or article relate to the specific thesis or question I am proposing?

Back to top




Summary of Searching (applies to most databases)

  • Enter your search terms.
  • Focus your search by choosing a Field Code from the All Fields drop-list on each line you use. 
    e.g.: to search for the subject "rape", enter it in the Find field, and select SU-Subject.
  • Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields.
    Use the * (truncation symbol) and the? (wild card) symbol as required.
  • Connect multiple search terms with connector words (AND, OR, NOT) to create
    a very broad or a very narrow search.
    Tip: Put all OR search terms that belong together (e.g. rape OR assault OR  sexual aggression)              
     into the same Find box on one line.
  • Select other appropriate search limiters and "broadeners" (usually provided with check boxes
    just below boxes where you enter your search terms).


    Back to top


Class Handout

          Using Library Resources to Do a Research Paper

·                     Step One:  Identify a potential topic.

Places/strategies to try include:

      -readings from the class syllabus or basic textbooks

      -discussion in and out of the classroom

      -surfing the Web (try the selected websites at the end of this handout) 

      -current newspapers, magazines and journals

       Some significant print journals available in the CSUDH Library
       (on the Third Floor in the Current Periodicals area)

-      Journal of Conflict Resolution 

-      Negotiation Journal

   (recent issues of these titles are also available in electronic format)

·                  Step Two: Find background information in encyclopedias and other reference books that give
          overviews of subjects, define key terms, identify and describe people and events and often include
          citations to some of the key works on subjects in your field:

§   Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution                        HM 136 .B783 1997 REF.

§   Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues    HN 57 .K73 1997 

§   Encyclopedia of Social Issues (v.1-6)                       HN57 .E59 1997 REF.  

§   International Encyclopedia of Public Policy

    and Administration (v.1-4)                                      H97. I574 1998 REF. 

·                     Step Three: (actually several sub-steps)

1.  Find books on your subject by searching the CSUDH online catalog (OPAC) under your
     subject.
     If you are taking the online NCR 507 and are unable to visit the CSUDH Library in person,
     contact the Distance Learning Librarian
(cdales@csudh.edu)  to discuss how you can
     best obtain books.

     Many books on research design are kept around the Library of Congress Call Numbers
     H61
and H62 and H97 in any academic library. Books on conflict resolution are kept in
    a variety of areas depending on their perspectives, so you must search the online catalog
    to track them down.

2. Find materials at libraries in your neighborhood in online library catalogs listed in
    Find Books at Other Libraries
on the right side of the CSUDH Torofind Online Catalog
    page at http://library.csudh.edu/CSUDHcatalog.php or use the blue LINK+ icon.

 3. Optional: Find Government Publications:                                                           

Most current Government publications are now available via the World Wide Web.
A good website to try: University of Michigan Library Documents Center.
Ask a librarian for help if you can't locate what you need.

Step Four: Find articles on your topic in newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals,
         by using electronic databases and/or print periodical indexes that enable you  to search
         by subject and / or keyword.

Find online journal indexes by clicking Journal Indexes & Electronic Resources (under "Find Library Materials" on the CSUDH Library Home Page at http://library.csudh.edu

Please note: You must be registered as a CSUDH Library user.
To register yourself as a Library user, fill out the online registration form at http://library.csudh.edu/rpareg.php.
The online registration process takes about 3 working days.
                                    

Step Five: Evaluate what you have found so far.

Should you broaden, narrow or restate your topic or thesis?
Should you request on Interlibrary Loan materials your own library doesn't own?

Step Six: Write and revise your paper (or report, research design, proposal.)! 

Step Seven: Prepare a bibliography   (list of resources that you used or referred to in your paper).

§         For assistance, go to CSUDH Library Instruction at  http://library.csudh.edu/LibInstruction.htm and click on Citing your Sources.

§         For detailed help with citing electronic resources, see also:

* Purdue University Online Writing Lab APA Formatting and Style Guide

* American Psychological Association http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html and / or
   http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

E  Carol Dales Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator/ California State University, Dominguez Hills, LIB B-218        
cdales@csudh.edu   Ph: 310-243-2088                                                                              February. 2008

 

Last updated 2/21/08 by
E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088