Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website
California State University Dominguez Hills "" "" """"""""
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library

University Library     MUSIC RESOURCES ON THE WEB
  

The freely available websites below have been selected and evaluated by CSUDH librarians
to help you with your music research.

If you are a CSUDH student, staff or faculty member, please log in to the subscription databases on the
Fine and Performing Arts Databases
page to find peer reviewed journal articles.

 

line


Abstracts, Indexes and Journals

  • The Aria Database "is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic translations and aria text of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles."
  • Canadian Music Periodical Index - this bilingual site covers over 475 journals, magazines and newsletters from late 19th century to date.
  • Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online - allows searching by keyword of the titles of dissertations in progress and those completed since 1995.
  • Music Journals and Magazines, Newspapers and Periodicals is a site provided by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at Indiana University School of Music. It is organized alphabetically and contains links to 350 online journal and newspaper sites relating to music.
  • Music Theory Online - full text of the electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory.
  • Themefinder - allows you to identify common themes in Western classical music, folksongs, and 16th century Latin motets by searching a database of tens of thousands of short melodies and musical incipits; developed jointly by the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities at Stanford University and the Cognitive and Systematic Musicology Laboratory at Ohio State University.
  • UT Analysis Index - the Music Library of the University of Tennessee maintains this service to help their students search their own analysis books by composer. You can use it to see which books in your music library contain analyses of specific pieces. Remember that not all of the books indexed will be available at the CSUDH Library, and those we do own may have slightly different call numbers.

Return to top of page



Citing Music Sources

Return to top of page

line


Composers

  • Beethoven Bibliography Database - a comprehensive index of books, journal articles and scores available in the Beethoven Center at San Jose State University.
  • Classical and Contemporary Composers - an alphabetical list of over 500 websites dedicated to the lives and music of composers medieval to contemporary.
  • Composers is a site provided by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at Indiana University School of Music. It is organized alphabetically and contains links to over 165 sites relating to composers.
  • Composers Necrology - this page, updated daily, contains the death dates of composers who have died since the mid 1980s.
  • The Franz Liszt Site  - "Amateur fan site dedicated to composer Franz Liszt remarkable for its bibliography, timeline, links and resources."
  • The Music Sack - gigantic database of facts about one million people who have been involved in music
    and their activities; especially strong on historical information about pianists and concerts they gave but
    also useful for tracking bands and people who played in them, and much more.
Return to top of page

line


Computers in Music

  • Computer Music Journal - contents and abstracts of articles, as well as as extensive links to other computer music websites.
  • Electronic Music Foundation - worldwide events, recordings and links compiled by this non-profit organization that "provides access to materials and information essential to understanding the history and current development of electronic music and related artforms".
  • Harmony Central Computer Music Resources - includes up to date sources for hardware, software and MIDI resources as well as links to computer music research sites.

Return to top of page


Copyright

Return to top of page


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Encyclopedia of Music in Canada - the electronic version of the Second Edition of The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada (1992) offers musicians, music scholars, students and music lovers everywhere instant access to complete and authoritative references about everything musical in Canada. Regular online updates and enrichment with digital images are in the works, and the French language version is just a mouse click away.
  • Instrument encyclopedia - "Beginning with more than 140 artifacts from the Stearns Collection at the University of Michigan, this resource features musical instruments from around the world." 
     
  • Music Dictionary Online - "offers translations for and, in the case of English and non-English words and phrases and where appropriate, explanations and comments about general (non-musical) and specialist (i.e. musical, etc.) terms that might be found in musical scores, books, web sites, CD notes and concert programmes".

Return to top of page


Health and Wellness

  • A Discussion on Performance Anxiety  - "Discusses psychological theories of how and why performance anxiety affects musicians, evaluating the effectiveness of different coping strategies, and suggesting ways in which future research might increase understanding of the experience of performing..."
  • Musicians and Injuries - Presents causes and prevention, abstracts of books and tapes and links to information about performers' repetitive motion problems. The author is Paul Marxhausen, supervisor of the University of Nebraska -Lincoln Engineering Electronics Shop.
  • Performance Wellness   - "Performance Wellness, Inc. (PW) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to meeting the mind-body health needs of performers and professionals from all walks of life. Our clinically-tested programs integrate techniques from the fields of music therapy, behavioral medicine, and yoga science."

Return to top of page

line


Jazz Web Sites

  • Jazz Canadiana - award-winning website of Toronto jazz authority, broadcaster and concert producer, Hal Hill, with plenty of links, artists' biographies and Canadian events and broadcast schedules.
  • The Red Hot Jazz Archive - over 1000 important recordings in streaming audio format of such early jazz luminaries as Louis Armstrong, Jelly Roll Morton and Duke Ellington.
  • WNUR-FM Jazz Web - volunteers at Northwestern University in Chicago maintain this radio website and clearinghouse of Internet jazz links.
  • World of Jazz Improvisation - syllabus for a course tought by Joan Wildman at University of Wisconsin, Madison, noted by PC Computing Magazine as one of its "101 Best Websites".

Return to top of page

line


Music Competitions and Scholarships

  • Music Competitions   - The William And Gayle Cook Library of Indiana University have compiled this list of links to music competitions around the world.

Return to top of page

line


Music Education

  • K-12 Resources for Music Educators - meticulously maintained by Minnesota music educator Cynthia Shirk and chosen an outstanding website by more than a dozen rating organizations. Offers dozens of sites of interest to band, orchestra, choral and classroom music teachers as well as MIDI resources and Beatles links!
  • Music Education Online - this website's Google hits make it the most popular music education site on the Web. It offers a wide selection of links to educational resources both instrumental and vocal as well as a collection of articles on the vital importance of music education.
  • Piano Education Page - the West Mesa Music Teachers Association in New Mexico maintains more than 600 pages of current information that make up this award winning resource for teachers, students, parents of students, and piano aficionados everywhere. Includes objective reviews of instructional software and learning materials, extensive sound files and hundreds of links.

Return to top of page

line


Music Therapy

  • American Music Therapy Association - vocational information, links to mailing lists, scholarships and jobs, as well as AMTA publications and membership.
  • Canadian Association for Music Therapy (CAMT) - links to education, accreditation, employment and conferences in this rapidly growing field.
  • CAIRSS for Music - Computer-Assisted Information Retrieval Search System for Music - a searchable database of literature in music education, music therapy, music psychology and music education, drawn from over 1300 journals.

Return to top of page

line


Musical Instruments

  • Connie's Violin Page -  links to hundreds of resources for violinists, maintained by Texas teacher, performer and composer, Connie Sunday.
  • Guitar Foundation of America - a wealth of information for classical guitarists, flamenco, lute and early guiter players, including societies, instrument makers and artists' websites.
  • International Trombone Association "is the largest association of trombonists with 4500 members from 50 countries. Formed in 1972, ITA is a registered non-profit organization and our mission is to promote the trombone and all trombone-related activities across the world. 
  • Internet Cello Society - Website of an "international cyber-community" of cellists with over 12,000 members; includes a newsletter, job listings, links to luthiers and much more.
  • Instrument encyclopedia   - "Beginning with more than 140 artifacts from the Stearns Collection at the University of Michigan, this resource features musical instruments from around the world."
  • Musical Instruments (Indiana University) - a direct link to the Indiana University School of Music Library superb collection of musical instrument sites. Includes bagpipes, hurdy gurdy and viola da gamba as well as all of the more usual music makers.
  • Online Trombone Journal is a "volunteer organization dedicated to providing free access to quality information about the trombone and the people who play it."
  • The Piano Page - The Piano Technicians Guild sponsors this interesting assortment of resources for students, teachers and performers as well as technicians. Also includes a Virtual Piano Museum and links to software and organ sites.
  • The Royal Canadian College of Organists - Canada's oldest musicians' association presents Canadian church job postings and salary charts, as well as extensive links to pipe organ sites all over the world.
  • Sax on the Web - current journal articles on technique and instrument maintenance and a lively discussion forum highlight this site.

Return to top of page

line


Musical Meta-Sites

  • The Classical Music Pages - "This web site provides you almost everything you need concerning classical music - its history, biographical information about composers (with portraits and short sound examples), explanations of the various music forms and a dictionary of musical terminologies."
  • DW3 Classical Music Resources - Claims to be "the most comprehensive collection of classical music resources on the Web with links to more than 2,800 non-commercial pages/sites in over a dozen languages".
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars - several hundred scholarly musical websites, carefully selected with an view to reliability, completeness and ease of use, and organized into broad categories.
  • Sibelius Academy Music Resources - a comprehensive page from Finland, with hundreds of websites neatly classified into 20 categories, and including links to sites of music schools, institutes and departments in 38 countries.
  • Worldwide Internet Music Resources - one of the most complete lists of popular and scholarly musicians and musical organizations, maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at Indiana University School of Music.

Return to top of page

 


Performance Music

  • Indiana University Sheet Music - "This web site allows you to search some of the holding from the Lilly Library's approximately 150,000 pieces of sheet music, including those for which there are digitized images available".
  • International Music Score Library Project - a vast virtual library containing public domain musical scores, as well
    as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. Over 5000
    works are browseable by composer name, composer time period, instrument, work type/genre and work time period. All entries are free to download, although some carry warnings that they are not public domain in every country.
  • Music-Scores.com - digital classical sheet music for download. Selections in the public domain may be downloaded free; for others there is a charge.
  • Mutopia - "All music in the Mutopia Project is free to download, print out, perform and distribute. There are now
    897 pieces of music available." (as of 06/26/07)
  • Project Gutenberg - digitized public domain sheet music to enable study and performance; mainly chamber music including works from Brahms and Beethoven.
  • VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores - pr ovides online full scores for display and study purposes only. These are not for printing. This site is currently in the development stage.

Return to top of page

line


Schools of Music and Music Libraries

  • Cyberspace Music Resources - a complete introduction to incorporating online resources into music research, created by Dr. Judith Coe at Mississippi University for Women.
  • Music Libraries - North American and British library websites, as well as a few selected European sites, drawn from the Indiana University School of Music Library website.
  • National Library of Canada Music Collection - information about over 250 archival collections, 200,000 recordings in all formats and an extensive collection of print music resources, as well as the Glenn Gould Archive, several Virtual Exhibitions and current Canadian copyright law.
  • University Music Departments' and Faculties' Home Pages - worldwide links to most music departments in higher education, courtesy of the London Royal Holloway School of Music.

Return to top of page


Vocal Music and Lyrics

  • The Aria Database - "is a diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias. Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the Database includes translations and aria text of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.
  • Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) - "is the largest website devoted exclusively to free choral sheet music". Begun in December 1998, the site has 380 contributors and 8400 scores.
  • ChoralNet - "The Internet Center for Choral Music" is an officially sanctioned activity of the International Federation for Choral Music and the place on the Internet where choral musicians can share their activities via mailing lists, newsgroups and a large cooperative repertoire area. Includes over 1000 links to other web pages in the field of choral music and related fields.
  • Gregorian Chant - award-winning site maintained by Princeton musicologist Peter Jeffery, features links to chant research websites, medieval music theory sites and resources for chant performance.
  • Lied and Song Texts Page - text files, searchable by word and phrase, cover works of over 1000 composers, from Abt to Zumsteeg.
  • Lyrics Connection - with the disappearance of the International Lyrics Server from the Web, this large searchable site is a good choice for locating rock band, folksong, opera and Broadway musical lyrics.
  • OperaGlass - Stanford University's comprehensive opera site contains performance histories, synopses, libretti, discographies, pictures of over 250 operas and 100 composers, as well as information on librettists, opera companies, opera people and selected reviews.
  • UT Song Index is a database providing "access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library a the University of Tennessee. Use this citation index to determine which anthologies contain the song(s) you need."

Return to top of page


Women in Music

  • International Alliance for the Study of Women in Music - more than 3500 pages of archival resources resources on women composers and women in music, developed and maintained by members of the IAWM.
  • Women and Music - a directory of over thirty annotated links to musical web resources in women's studies; includes web pages, journals and discussion lists on women's involvement in classical music as well as popular, blues, rock, punk, feminist and lesbian music.

Return to top of page

line


World Music

  • Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music - University of Washington Music Library's authoritative gateway to major resources in ethnomusicology; includes extensive links to music all over the world, organized by geographic region.
  • Ethnomusicology OnLine - easy access to the full text of the past five years of this peer-reviwed multimedia web journal.
  • Luna Kafé - The Global Music Inn - music e-zine published at every full moon; publishes reviews of an eclectic assortment of new releases from all over the world.
  • World Fusion Music Links - links to artists, dance, instruments, concerts and much more for World Fusion, a movement that creates exciting new music by combining ideas from diverse traditions around the world.
  • World Wide Music-CD's, Cassettes and More! - features 300,000 music samples from 50,000 CDs for RealAudio preview and online purchase.

Return to top of page

California State University, Dominguez Hills • 1000 E. Victoria Street • Carson, California 90747 • (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright, please contact copyright@csudh.edu .  

Page last updated on: 01/26/2007 by E. Carol Dales (310) 243-2088