California State University Dominguez Hills
    
310-243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
University Library    

CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Language Learning in an Urban Setting MUL 508

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales

(310) 243-2088

 









Go to: Books | Journal Articles | Electronic Books |Thesaurus | Specific Article |
| Interlibrary Loan
| Internet | | Citing articles | Summary of searching | ERIC Handout |



 

Books

  • If you will be borrowing books from the CSUDH Library, take a close look at
    the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.

    To borrow books, take your CSUDH photo identification card (it will also serve as your
    library card)
    and

    one other photo identification (such as your driver's licence) to the Circulation Desk on the Library 2nd floor.
  • Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
    In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you to
    directly request books from other libraries ("All CSUs Catalog" and LINK+ buttons).

    Links are provided below for other local libraries and libraries worldwide.

•  Selected Print Reference Sources:

•  Encyclopedia of language and education. (8 vol.)
    Call number   P40.8 .E53 1997

•  An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages. David Crystal .
    Call Number: REF P29 .C68 1992

•  International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (4 vol.)
   Call Number REF. P29 I58 1991

•  Language and Communication: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia
   
Call Number REF. P29 .F47 1998.  


Back to top



Journal Articles

To find journal articles when you don't already have a specific citation or reference to an article,
try one of the article indexes (you'll also hear us call them databases).

Two things you need to use CSUDH databases off campus: 

1. You must be a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.

2. You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) installed.
Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
and you absolutely must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of
Journal Article Indexes
to see all available CSUDH databases.

For a detailed review of how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here.

To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed"
and place a check in the box beside these words (check any journal title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory
to see whether it observes the peer review process).

  • ERIC: comprehensive database covering a wide range of education subjects; includes both journal articles and miscellaneous educational materials. (click here for in-depth ERIC help)

  • PsycINFO: citations and abstracts to scholarly journals in psychology and related disciplines;
    many references to education-related topics.

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete: high quality research articles in linguistics, languages and all aspects of communication and mass media.

  • JSTOR : long back runs of almost 50 education journal titles.

  • Education Full Text: covers varying runs of almost 600 education publications.

  • Academic Search Premier: multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,650 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it covers a wide range of subject areas.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch : newspaper, magazine and journal and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. If you are researching ethnic populations, you may find additional perspectives because of unique resources it indexes.

  • Wiley InterScience: full text of 16 journals; limit to Subject: Education.

Back to top



Electronic Books

Check the Electronic Books page for links to:

* Ebrary (scholarly books)
    and
* Gale Electronic Reference Books, including:

Encyclopedia of Education: covers education within the United States and throughout the world; over 900 articles on institutions, people, processes and products found in educational practice.

Child Development: covers issues related to human development from conception through adolescence.

* Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: contains substantial essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages.

 .  Gale Learning and Memory: overview of current knowledge about  learning and memory; advances in fields of memory, neuroscience, and cognition.


Back to top



Thesaurus (locates correct descriptors/subject headings to use in your search
)       
      

  • Locate a Thesaurus button or link on the screen (it may be called "Subject Headings"
    or "Subject Index", depending on the database you are using.
    )
  • Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading
    into the appropriate box.
  • Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that
    defines the term as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower,
    broader
    and related terms.
  • Either copy down useful descriptors/subject headings or cut and paste them into the
    search screen where you are working.

    Back to top


Finding a Specific Journal Title

If you have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library subscribes to the journal
you need by using the CSUDH Journals List. This list includes both print and online journals.

For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the Find a Specific Article tutorial.

Back to top

 

Interlibrary Loan

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal, magazine or book that you need:

      - submit an Interlibrary Loan request at the Reference Desk on the 2nd
               floor of the Library or use the online ILL form at
                http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  to submit an electronic request.

               A print or electronic copy of that article will be obtained from another
               library, but may take as long as 7 to 14 days or longer to arrive.

               Note: books requested through LINK+ usually arrive within 2 to 4 days!

              OR

   - go to the Library Online Catalogs and Information page at 
           http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/libraries.htm to look for holdings at other academic libraries
          you can visit in person (such as other CSU libraries).      
    
     Back to top



The Internet

Google is still an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are doing, it will lead you to millions of web pages on sociology research and its hundreds of subtopics.

Three tips:

  • Try Google's Advanced Search page to refine your search.
  • When using information from the web for projects and research papers, remember to evaluate the quality
    and reliability of the information.
    For evaluation criteria, try Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages (Cornell University Library) and
    Evaluating Information on the Web
    (Pasadena City College Librar
    y).
  • Google Scholar lets you search some scholarly literature, including many peer reviewed articles, 
    but note that you may not be able to freely access the full text of the article.
    For scholarly literature, the Library databases listed above are usually a better option for beginning your research.


    •  Librarian-selected Internet Resources:

    •  CARLA:Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition: based at the University of
        Minnesota , studies multilingualism and multiculturalism, develops knowledge of second language
        acquisition, and advances the quality of second language teaching, learning and assessment; includes
        a battery of second language proficiency assessments and a working paper series.

    •  Center for Applied Linguistics: a private, non-profit organization of scholars and educators who use
       the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems.

    •  English Made in Brazil Educational Site: although part of the site is in the Portuguese language, it
        has valuable links to English language web pages on teaching methodologies and theories such as
        those of Piaget and Krashen.

    •  Former ERIC Clearinghouse on Languages and Linguistics: wide range of services
       and materials for language educators, most of them free, now archived by Center for Applied Linguistics.

    •  ILoveLanguages! : comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; covers linguistics,
        online language lessons, translating dictionaries, software, etymology, and world languages.

    •  Language, Learning & Technology: A Refereed Journal for Foreign and Second Language
        Educators (free and searchable online journal).

    •  USC Center for Multilingual and Multicultural Research: " research unit at the University of
        Southern California, facilitating the research collaboration, dissemination and professional
        development activities of faculty, students, and others across School of Education, university and
        outside organizational lines".

     •  U.S. Dep't. of Education ERIC website: searches the ERIC bibliographic database of
        more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966; more than 107,000 full-text non-journal
        documents (issued 1993-2006), available free (same as the ED items from Ebsco ERIC).
     
        Students who don't know how to access Library databases often end up
        searching here, BUT the official government version of ERIC has NO links
        to full text journal articles.

    Back to top

Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used.
Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know what information about each information source to write down before you begin your research.
It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make note cards as you are working to keep track of sources of information you use while doing your research.

Citing Your Sources

Our web page, How to Cite Your Sources in a Research Paper, has two links.
The first link takes you to a download page for the Adobe Acrobat Reader, which you will need
to access the actual web page.
The second link leads to a document that shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in
APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.


Always check with your professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.

Back to top




Summary of Searching (applies to most databases)

  • Enter your search terms.
  • Focus your search by choosing a Field Code from the All Fields drop-list on each line you use. 
    e.g.: to search for the subject "rape", enter it in the Find field, and select SU-Subject.
  • Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields.
    Use the * (truncation symbol) and the? (wild card) symbol as required.
  • Connect multiple search terms with connector words (AND, OR, NOT) to create
    a very broad or a very narrow search.
    Tip: Put all OR search terms that belong together (e.g. rape OR assault OR  sexual aggression)              
                   into the same Find box on one line.
  • Select other appropriate search limiters and "broadeners" (usually provided with check boxes
    just below boxes where you enter your search terms).
Back to top


ERIC HELP

            

u INTRODUCTION TO ERIC
 u    What is ERIC?

*        Educational Resources Info. Center, U.S. Dep't. of Education database that provides access
    to education literature from 1966 to date.

*        ERIC is a research and current awareness tool that lets you find  both

§         citations: basic information that enables you to track down a publication, including: author name; article, chapter or book title; journal title (if an article citation); issue and page numbers of journals; publisher and place of publication information for books, and

§         abstracts: summaries of each article and publication it indexes.

u    What kind of education literature does ERIC index?

*        ERIC contains two distinct types of material:

    - Journal articles: abstracts of over 1 million articles from 1000+ professional            journals, 1882 to date
          (ERIC Journal numbers begin with EJ)

.   - ERIC Documents: everything that is NOT a journal article (about 40% of  the
          ERIC database is in document form); includes unpublished materials  of all
          types, archived by ERIC: includes conference papers, books,
government           reports, teaching guides, lesson plans and other education literature. 
          (Eric Document numbers all begin with ED).

*   HOT TIP: for assignments that require you to find JOURNAL ARTICLES    only, limit your results (under the "Refine Search" tab) to Journal articles    to eliminate unwanted ED Document results)

u    Does ERIC include any full text journal articles?

YES, but CSUDH Library does not own anywhere near all of the materials or subscribe to all of the 1000+ journals and magazines indexed in ERIC. The Library subscribes to the EBSCOhost version of ERIC because it does link to full text for some (20%) of the articles it indexes. ERIC results also contain direct links to articles in many other electronic journal indexes to which the CSUDH Library also subscribes.

u    How to Do an Article Search in ERIC:

*        ERIC is not case sensitive.

*        Write down the most important key word or words that describe your topic.
     Whenever possible, list synonyms for each word. The resulting words and /or
     phrases are your search terms.

*        Type a word or phrase into the top Find box that describes what you are looking
    for: e.g.:  sociolinguistics

u How to get fewer results (narrow your search):

*        type another word or phrase into the 2nd Find box to make a search more specific

     e.g.:black dialects

  Leave the small dropdown box to the left of your search set to AND.   Your search then becomes:

   sociolinguistics AND balck dialects

  This narrows your search (fewer results) because both words or   phrases you enter must be present in all results.

      AND is a connector word (sometimes called a Boolean operator).
         
Use AND for any search to combine multiple concepts.
 *   
Limit your results, as needed, to a particular journal title or date range or to     full text, or to journal articles only, by clicking in the boxes below your search       (just below the "Refine Search" tab).

*        Choose an appropriate Field Code from the All Fields box on each line you use.

      For example, to search for the subject "active learning", enter it in the Find       field, and select SU-Subject. Ebsco software will then search only the Subject       field of each record.

*        Use the connector word NOT (also a Boolean operator) to exclude terms you
     don't want in your results.

    NOT will narrow or limit your search (fewer results) because the excluded
       word must not be present in results: Saturn NOT automobile

u How to get more results (expand your search):

       *  Use a truncation symbol   e.g. child* locates child, child's, children, etc.

       *  Use a wild card symbol     e.g.  wom?n locates woman or women

    *  Add synonyms to your search with OR:

      e.g.:  english as a second language OR esl OR bilingualism

                  (type all related OR terms on one line)

            -broadens the search (more results) because any one
       (but possibly more than one, or all)
of the words or phrases
           you specify may appear in results.

   *   Expand your search to include related words (synonyms and plurals),
           by checking the appropriate box on the right hand side of the screen. 

     *    Check your search terms for correct and alternate spellings and typos.

   *    Reduce the number of concepts you are using, e.g. if you are searching
           for three concepts, try just searching for two.

u   Summary of Advanced Search Screen searching in ERIC:

*       Enter your search terms in one or more Find fields.

*       Choose an appropriate Field Code from the All Fields drop-list on each line you use.

*       Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields. Use the * (truncation symbol) and the ? (wild card) symbols as required.

*       Connect multiple search terms with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden
    or narrow search. Use the drop-lists to the left
of each optional text box to select the     appropriate operator to connect terms.

*       Put all OR search terms that belong together (e.g. speech OR language OR rhetoric OR
    verbal communication) into the same Find box on the same line.

*       Apply limits by clicking the blue "refine Search" tab e.g.: limit results to
    journal articles only.

u     Viewing the Results of a Search:

*       After entering your search terms and parameters, click the Search button.

*       The Result List will appear in table format listed by date with the most
       recent first.

*       (Optional) You can click on thesmall folder  icon to the right of each result to  
       collect all of the best results from searches for viewing/saving/printing in
      a folder.

*       Each record in the Result List includes an abstract with search terms
     highlighted in bold italicized type. Here are three different possible options,
   
at least one of which will be offered on the last line of each record:

  1. HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text  --EBSCOhost ERIC provides direct links to Full Text articles
    from electronic journals in other EBSCO databases (besides ERIC) to which CSUDH subscribes.
  2. The blue "Check Availability" link appears when full text is not included in ERIC.
    However, full text MAY appear in a completely different journal index OR
    in hard copy somewhere in the Library. Click to find out!
    (You may also request unavailable articles on Interlibrary loan through this link).
  3. Full Text from ERIC  - takes you directly to ERIC documents; view, save or print these from within Adobe Acrobat software.

     Note 1: THESE ARE NOT JOURNAL ARTICLES!
     Note 2: ERIC documents for which no full text link is included may actually be books.

If no full text is available online, ask at the Information / Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library:

    *some Eric documents are books listed in the CSUDH or other library catalogs.
    *other ERIC documents are available on microfiche

   Remember:

An ERIC record with an EJ number is an article in a journal.

An ERIC record with an ED number is any miscellaneous document that is NOT a journal article

u    What to do if the CSUDH Library does NOT carry in any form
   a specific journal or book you need:

§      submit an Interlibrary Loan request at the Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library or use the online ILL form  (click the Library Services button, then the Interlibrary Loan button)  to submit an electronic request for an article or a book.

A photocopy or electronic copy of that article or the book itself will be obtained from another university, but may take as long as a month to arrive).

OR

§         click the Find Books at Other Libraries button on the CSUDH University Library Catalog web page and check for holdings at other academic or large public libraries you can visit in person: CSU libraries (Pharos), UC libraries(Melvyl) or look on the Southern California Libraries website  

u Why and how should I Use the ERIC Thesaurus?

§         When you are not sure of the correct descriptor (subject heading) for the topic you are      investigating, the Thesaurus will help you find it.

§         Click the Thesaurus button on the main toolbar at the top of the screen.

§         In the box below the green Thesaurus tab, type a term for which you would like to identify
     a subject heading into the Browse box and click beside the Alphabetical or Relevancy    Ranked buttons.

§         Click the Browse button.

§         You will see a scope note that defines the term as used in the database, as well as a list of
    narrower
, broader and related terms.

§         You can click directly on these terms, check the boxes beside them to search a
      combination of terms or cut and paste them into the search screen where you are working.

u     Finding a specific article when you already have the citation:

Two methods:

-         If you think the article might be in ERIC, search for it by entering information you already have into the ERIC Find boxes.

*       e.g.: Find an article entitled "Spanish Teachers' Opinions about the use of Spanish in Mainstream English Classrooms before and After Their First Year in California " by Francisco Ramos in the Vol. 29, No 2, Summer 2005 issue of Bilingual Research Journal:

-      type mainstream English classrooms (or any other distinctive phrase from the article title) into
      the top "Find" text box

-       click the dropdown box to the right to read TI Title.

-      click the dropdown box at the beginning of the second line to read  And                                                                             

-     type Ramos into the "Find" text box on the second line

-     click the dropdown box at the end of the second line to read AU Author.

-    type the journal title into the "Limit your Results" section under Journal

-       click the Search button.  

-  If not sure which journal index contains the journal:

   - go to the CSUDH Library web site at http://library.csudh.edu/

    - under "Find Library Materials", click "Journal Articles & Electronic Resources"

    - click the yellow "Find A Specific Journal/ CSUDH Journals List" button

    - click   I know the title of the journal I want

    - type the journal title (Bilingual Research Journal) into the "Search for Titles/Find" box

     -type the name of the journal into the Find box.

     -if CSUDH owns the journal, you'll see one or more links to electronic Journal indexes as well as links to       
      the Library catalog for journals  available in print or microfilm format.            


Back to top

Prepared by: E. Carol Dales /  Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services  Coordinator LIB B-218       
 Ph: 310-243-2088                    cdales@csudh.edu                                                                 Sept. 2007

 

California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu
Last updated 09/10/07 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088