California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
University Library
 

   
   SUBJECT RESEARCH GUIDE

CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

MGT 418: Seminar in Comparative Management Systems

For assistance, contact:
Naomi Moy
nmoy@csudh.edu
(310) 243-2086

To start your research, use the resources below or begin with the the CSUDH Library web page found at : http://library.csudh.edu . The resources for this class will require recently published articles and statistics. The library's internet-based databases, as well as the databases of various countries and international organizations can be used to find materials of relevance to business operations in various countries.

The resources listed under the categories of "Electronic Databases" and "Journal and Newspaper Articles"are available from on-campus computers or by remote access CSUDH students who have registered for access. Registered students should already be in the Library's databases. Log-in to the databases found at http://library.csudh.edu/ElectDB.php by using the following ID information:

Country Information

University Library

Electronic Databases

Internet Resources:

Internet Resouces on Business and Statistical & Business Information

Journal & Newspaper Articles

To find journal articles when you do not have a specific citation or reference to an article, try one of the article indexes. Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH databases.

For a review of how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here. To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed ' and place a check in the box beside these words. Although many of the databases have direct links for the full text or .pdf copy of the article included with the citation or abstract of the article, look for this button Other sources to locate this title to find out if the library has the article available in another database.

Locating a Specific Journal Title

If you have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, use the CSUDH Journals List to find out if subscribes to the needed journal. This list includes both print and online journals. The Library currently subscribes to over 27,000 journals online. When you click on the title, you will usually find a page that has separate links for the year of available volumes. Click on the year and then you will next be able to click on specific issues. CSUDH's list also includes links to the ToroFind catalog record for print subscription information.

The Internet

When using information from the web for projects and research papers, you should evaluate the quality and reliability of the information. Here's a link to one of many websites which give you evaluation criteria: Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages. An outstanding search engine to use is Google. In addition, Google Scholar would enable you to search the scholarly literature, including peer reviewed articles, but note that you may not be able to access the full text of the article. For the scholarly literature, the databases listed above in the "Journal Articles & Newspapers" section will usually be a better option for beginning your research.

Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used. There are several standard guides available in the Library to help you. Please come to the Reference Desk for assistance. In addition, the CSUDH Library has a summary of the formats most commonly used posted on the Library website. Take a look at this guide in advance so you'll know what information you need to jot down before you begin your research. It may be more difficult to retrace your steps than to make bibliographic note cards as you are working on your project.

 

Last updated 2/09/2008 by Naomi Moy