CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
 |
MGT 418: International Business and Comparative Management
|
 |
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu | 310-243-2084
NOTE: to access any of our subscription databases
from home, please see our
Remote Patron
Access Instructions guide for login instructions.
Statistics
| Overviews
| Country
Specific Information | Culture and
Communication | Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources
|
Questions to ask before beginning research
|
Where to Start? |
What's your research question? What information do you
need to find? |
Who cares about the same information? (e.g.: the government,
competitors, investors, etc.) |
What kind of information do they need? |
Where would they get it? |
|
Types of information available |
Company websites (primary sources) |
Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers (secondary sources)
|
Statistical, numeric and tabular data (primary or secondary) |
Search Concepts |
Boolean operators 1. AND: Adidas AND marketing
2. OR: Adidas OR Nike
3. NOT: Adidas NOT shoes |
Phrase searching " "
"Nike Sportswear of America " |
USE THE HELP SCREENS
|
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff
Broude, librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Country Specific Information
University Library
- To find books on doing business in specific countries: go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library
Catalog and search on the title doing business
in or doing business with, and look for your
country listed in the title. Look not only for that specific call number, but
also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see your country listed, or want more titles, try an
on business and your country (in
separate boxes).
- If you still don't see your country listed, ask a reference librarian.
Statistics
| Overviews
| Country
Specific Information | Culture and
Communication | Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources
Country Information and Statistics
Country
Overviews
University Library
- Statesman's Year-Book [Ref JA51.S7]
- World Almanac [Ref and 3rd floor AY67.N5 W7]
- EIU Country Commerce series: In looseleaf binders, one for every country
[Ref HG4538 C68]
Subscription Databases
NOTE: These online indexes must be accessed through
these
links. For further exploration, go to the CSUDH library homepage, and select Find Journal Articles
& Electronic Resources. You may either browse by subject area or go to
your favorite resource using the Alphabetical List.
- ABI/Inform Business Global: indexes international
business articles in magazines, scholarly and trade journals, newsletters and
reports.
- Business Source Premier: also indexes business articles
in many formats. Scroll down list to find database name.
- Lexis-Nexis: Select Business from left column, then
choose what type of information you need. Also try their Online
Almanac (under Reference)
- STAT-USA: Click on Globus & NTDB, the click
on "Country
Commercial Guides" under Market and Country Research. Search on
your country.
- Business Full-text: In Subject Area box, select Business.
Select multiple subjects by holding down CTRL key.
- Factiva: Choose a free text search, or you may limit by
region or subject.
These are general databases, not specifically business-related, but very good
for information on country information and current news:
- Country Watch: choose your country to find latest news,
data and statistics.
- Britannica
Online (use this link) : the online version of Encyclopedia
Britannica. Search on your country.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- ProQuest Databases
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
- US Government sites and academic resources:
- Country Studies: Area
Handbooks : Prepared by the Library of Congress for U.S. military and
foreign service personnel, these offer a brief history of a country,
describe its culture and survey the country's economic and political
environment. They are book length reports which can be retrieved a section
at a time.
- Country
Commercial Guides Prepared by the U.S. Department of State as
well. These give detailed summaries of political and economic conditions,
provide guides for marketing U.S. products and describe potential sectors
for U.S. investing and exports.
- Background Notes
produced by the U.S. State Department, contains overview of countries,
their governments and history. Reports are much briefer than the Country
Studies.
- Travel Warnings
& Consular Information Sheets: briefings for U.S. travelers and
expatirates about conditions they might encounter when traveling in other
countries.
- globalEDGE hosted by Michigan
State University, a portal to information on international business.
- Commercial and private sites:
Statistics
University Library
- Statistical Abstract of the United States contains tables with basic
economic and demographic statistics for most countries. [ Ref HA202 .A36 ]
- Europa World Year Book: Comprehensive demographic, economic,
infrastructure and statistical data and political histories for every country.
[Ref JN1 .E85]
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
- US Government sites:
- Sites from international agencies:
- World Bank Data contains tables
with comparative population and economic data and a separate section with
country profiles
- United Nations has population and
economic statistics in tables (text version loads quicker)
- Eurostat
: The statistics gathering office of the European Community.
- Academic sites:
Statistics
| Overviews
| Country
Specific Information | Culture and
Communication | Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources
Business Communication and Cultural Information
University Library
- Click on the
tab, and search on intercultural
communication (as a subject) and your country
(as a keyword) in separate boxes.
- The Doing Business In... series has some information on cultural norms and
communication etiquette: go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library
Catalog and search on the title doing business
in or doing business with, and look for your
country listed in the title.
- If you still don't see your country listed, ask a reference librarian.
Some suggested titles:
- Breaking through culture shock [3rd floor HD58.7 .M3747 1999]
- When cultures collide [3rd floor HD62.4 .L49 1996]
- The executive guide to Asia-Pacific communications [3rd floor
HF5718.2.A78 J36 1995]
- Global smarts [3rd floor HF5389 .H63 2000]
- Dun & Bradstreet's guide to doing business around the world [
Ref HF1416 .M78 2001]
- Cross-cultural problems in international business [3rd floor HD62.4
.M3 1993]
Subscription Databases
NOTE: These online indexes must be accessed through
these
links. For further exploration, go to the CSUDH library homepage, and select Find Journal Articles
& Electronic Resources. You may either browse by subject area or go to
your favorite resource using the Alphabetical List.
- for business articles and research, use these online
indexes:
- ABI/Inform Business Global: indexes international
business articles in magazines, scholarly and trade journals, newsletters
and reports.
- Business Source Premier: also indexes business articles
in many formats. Scroll down list to find database name.
- Mergent Online: provides indexing and full-text
analysis of company information, companys' annual reports and industry
reports. Useful for exploring the culture of a particular company or
industry. (Warning - very slow processing speed!)
- Lexis-Nexis: Select Business from left column, then
choose what type of information you need.
- Business Full-text: In Subject Area box, select
Business. Select multiple subjects by holding down CTRL key.
- Factiva: Choose a free text search, or you may limit by
region or subject.
- These are general databases, not specifically business-related, but very
good for information on communications, etiquette and current
news:
- Country Watch: choose your country to find latest news,
data and statistics.
- Britannica
Online (use this link) : the online version of Encyclopedia
Britannica. Search on your country.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- ProQuest Databases
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
- Executive Planet: business
etiquette and culture in top US trading partner nations
Currency Converters and Exchange Rates
find todays equivalent to the US Dollar, or find the rate
of exchange from 1 month, 1 year or 1 century ago!
University Library
- Check any daily newspaper business section, such as the Wall Street
Journal , the New York Times, or the Los Angeles Times for currency values and
conversion tables.
Subscription Databases
NOTE: These online indexes must be accessed through
these
links. For further exploration, go to the CSUDH library homepage, and select Find Journal Articles
& Electronic Resources. You may either browse by subject area or go to
your favorite resource using the Alphabetical List.
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
Additional Resources
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
Statistics
| Overviews
| Country
Specific Information | Culture and
Communication | Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources
Created and adapted by C. Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 7/16/07
This handout adapted from information from the USC Crocker Business
Library, Charles Varga and Julie Kwan contributors