Introduction to Interdisciplinary Studies: IDS 300
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
csudhlogo csudhlogo csudhlogo
csudh_logo Index Page Search Page CSUDH Home Page csudh_banner csudhlogo
Library Banner
   

CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Introduction to Interdisciplinary Studies: IDS 300

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales (310) 243-2088 (Dr. Kalayjian's class)
                                          Naomi Moy (310) 243-2086 (Dr. Price's class)

 











Go to: Books | Journal Articles | Electronic Books |Thesaurus | Specific Article |
| Interlibrary Loan
| Internet | Evaluating All Sources | Citing articles | Summary of searching|

 


Books

Borrowing Books:

  • To borrow books, take your
    CSUDH photo ID with a current sticker

    AND
    a second photo ID to the Library Circulation Department on the 2nd floor of the library .

  • Before borrowing books, read the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.

  • Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
    In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you
    to directly request books from other libraries ("All CSUs Catalog" and LINK+ buttons).
    Here are links for other local libraries and libraries worldwide:


Journal Articles

  • To find journal articles when you don't already have a specific citation or reference to an article,
    try one of the article indexes (you'll also hear us call them databases).

    Two requirements for using CSUDH databases off campus: 

1. You must be a currently registered CSUDH student or CSUDH faculty or staff member.
2.
You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) installed.
Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
and you absolutely must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of
    Article Indexes
    to see all available CSUDH databases.

  • For a tutorial on how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here.

  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed"'
    and place a check in the box beside these words:

    • SocINDEX with full text
      Comprehensive sociology research database that indexes numerous sociology and other social science journals; includes full text for almost 400 "core" journals, as well as full text for hundreds of
      books and conference papers.

    • Academic Search Premier
      Multi-disciplinary database with full text for almost 4500 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it also includes general magazines and covers a wide range of subject areas.


    • Chicano Database
      A bibliographic database for materials, including books, on Chicanos and the broader Latino experience. Because this database does not include links to the full text of articles, use the
      CSUDH Journals List
      to locate journal articles and the ToroFind catalog to locate books.

    • Ethnic NewsWatch
      Full text newspaper, magazine and journal and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and
      native press.

    • GenderWatch
      Full text database of publications, some dating back to 1970, that focus on how gender
      impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; includes scholarly journals, magazines,
      newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

    • General Science Full Text
      Covers the latest developments in science and technology in articles that can be understood by
      non-specialists.

    • JSTOR
      Contains full text for over 40 scholarly sociology journals as well as a broad range of academic disciplines. Although the last 5 years are not included, JSTOR usually provides full-text from
      volume one up to few years ago.


    • ProQuest Newspapers
      Searches the full-text of over 500 national and international newspapers written in English, including Los Angeles Times and New York Times.

    • PsycINFO
      Comprehensive database covering a wide range of related social sciences, including psychology as it relates to sociology.

    • Social Sciences Full Text
      Indexing and articles for family studies and sociology.



      Looking for more even more databases??

      For links to all available CSUDH Library journal article databases arranged by subject,
      visit
      the Subject Guide to Journal Article Indexes .

Back to Top



Electronic Books

Check the Electronic Books page for links to Ebrary (complete scholarly books in many disciplines) and Gale Library (reference books on multicultural, religious, sociology topics and more).

Back to Top



Thesaurus ( locates correct subject headings to use in your search
)       
      

  • Locate the Thesaurus button or link on the screen (may also be called "Subject Headings"
    or "Subject Index".
  • Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading
    into the appropriate box.
  • Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that
    defines the term as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower,
    broader
    and related terms.
  • Either copy down useful subject headings or cut and paste them into the
    search screen where you are working.

    Back to Top


Finding a Specific Journal Title

  • The CSUDH Library currently subscribes to over 25,000 journals online.
    If you already have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library subscribes
    to the journal you need by using the CSUDH Journals List.
    This list includes both print and online journals.

  • For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the Find a Specific Article tutorial.

    Back to Top

 


Interlibrary Loan

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal, magazine or book that you need:

      - use the appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/RequestBook.htm
       to submit an electronic request.

               A print or electronic copy of that item will be obtained from another library,
               but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.
               
Note: Books requested through LINK+ usually arrive within 3 to 5 working days.

              OR

   - go to the Library Online Catalogs and Information page at 
        http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/libraries.htm to look for holdings at other academic libraries
        you can visit in person (such as other CSU libraries).      
    
    Back to Top



The Internet

Google is still an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are doing,
it can lead you to hundreds of thousands of web pages on your topic.

Three tips:

  • Try Google's Advanced Search page to refine your search (for better results, use the "Domain" box
    to limit your results to the domain .edu)
    .

  • When using information from the web for projects and research papers, ALWAYS evaluate the quality
    and reliability of the information, as well as the suitability of the information for the project you're doing.


  • For evaluation criteria, try Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages (Cornell University Library) and
    Evaluating Information on the Web
    (Pasadena City College Library
    ).

  • Google Scholar lets you search some scholarly literature, including many peer reviewed articles, 
    but note that you may not be able to freely access the full text of the article.
    For scholarly literature,  the Library databases listed above are usually a better option for
    beginning your research.

    More Websites Selected and Evaluated by Librarians:


  • Infomine: A searchable index of websites appropriate for university research.
    Click on SocSci & Humanities to search their specialized index.


  • New York Times series: Class Matters: During May and June, 2005 the New York Times ran this
    eleven-part series. They have maintained the entire series on their website, along with additional features such as interactive graphics, surveys, and suggestions for further reading.


  • Socioweb: Independent guide to sociological sources on the Internet.


    Back to Top


Evaluating All of Your Information Sources

  • Whether it's a book, an article, a document or a website, you will need to evaluate the suitability
    of every piece of information you locate for the project or paper you're working on.

    Helpful guidelines are available at this website,
    Critically Analyzing Information Sources,
    maintained by Cornell University Library.

Back to Top





Citing Your Sources

  • When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will be asked to provide a bibliography
    of the materials that you used.

    Take a look at the CSUDH Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know what information about each
    information source to write down before you begin your research.
    It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make note cards as
    you are working to keep track of sources of information you use while doing your research.

  • For detailed assistance with MLA format, see Purdue University's excellent MLA Formatting and Style Guide, part of their OWL (Online Writing Lab) website.

  • SImilarly, for detailed help with APA format, try Purdue's APA Formatting and Style Guide.

Back to Top




Summary of Searching (applies to most databases)

  • Enter your search terms.
  • Focus your search by choosing a Field Code from the All Fields drop-list on each line you use. 
    e.g.: to search for the subject “rape”, enter it in the Find field, and select SU-Subject.
  • Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields.
  • Use the * (truncation symbol) and the? (wild card) symbol as required.
  • Connect multiple search terms with connector words (AND, OR, NOT) to create
    a very broad or a very narrow search.
  • Tip: Put all OR search terms that belong together (e.g. rape OR assault OR  sexual aggression)              
     into the same Find box on one line.
  • Select other appropriate search limiters and "broadeners" (usually provided with check boxes
    just below boxes where you enter your search terms).
Back to Top
California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747. (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu

Last updated 9/20/07 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088