CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
|
|
Health Care and Public Administration/Policy
Prepared by:Caroline
Bordinaro, Librarian cbordinaro@csudh.edu | 310-243-2084
|
Concepts and questions for
beginning research:
- Where to Start?
- What's your research question?
- What information do you need to find?
- Who cares about the same
information? (e.g.: researchers,
historians, government, etc.)
- What kind of information do they need?
- Where would they get it?
- What resource are you currently using?
Why is it important to know?
- Is there a better tool for the job?
- Are you using it in the most efficient/effective way?
- Types of information available
- Books
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
- Websites
- Newsletters
- Reports
- Terms you need to know before searching for articles
- DATABASE: An organized collection of
information, especially electronic information.
- ONLINE JOURNAL INDEX: A database that contains
magazine, newspaper and journal articles e.g: Academic Search Premier
- JOURNAL (also SCHOLARLY JOURNAL):
Scholarly publication, articles usually reviewed by experts in the field
before publication; published for an academic audience; narrow focus; deeply
researched e.g.; American Journal of Psychology
- MAGAZINE: Publication of general interest: popular
interest and broad subjects (e.g: Psychology Today)
- ABSTRACT: a brief summary of the main content of an
article
- FULL TEXT: the complete article. Click on the
button to see if the Full Text is available.
- CITATION: the basic information you need to find the
full text of an article. Includes
- Search Concepts
- Boolean operators
- 1. AND: Adidas AND marketing
2. OR: Adidas OR Nike
3. NOT:
Adidas NOT shoes
- Phrase searching"" ( "Nike Sportswear of America")
- Advanced Search: Use this frequently to determine your search
options. This will save you TIME and FRUSTRATION!
- USE THE HELP SCREENS
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude,
librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific
call number, but also check out the books in that section. This is the best way
to find older government documents and technical reports.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few keywords (in separate boxes).
- The item you want may not be a book. It may be some other kind of
document, or it may be on microfilm.
- If you don't find what you need, ask a reference librarian.
Go to:
Finding
Websites | Library
Guides
Magazine, journal and newspaper articles online
NOTE:
These are subscription online journal
indexes, selected and provided specifically for CSUDH students. To access from
home, please see our Remote Patron Access Instructions guide for login
instructions.
Recommended journal indexes:
- PAIS International: indexes journal articles and research
in the areas of public affairs, public and social policies and international
relations
- Health Source: provides scholarly and peer-reviewed
journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including nursing, allied
health and pharmacology. Articles date back to 1975.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health
Literature): provides access to journal articles in current nursing and allied
health, including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative
complementary medicine, and consumer health. Also includes health care books,
nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice,
educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, legal cases, clinical
innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical
trials. Articles date from 1982.
- America History & Life and Historical
Abstracts: indexes journals on American and world history from 1450
to the present.
- Business & Economic Databases (ProQuest)*: search
from a wide variety of journals, magazines, newsletters and other publications
in the areas of business, marketing, management, advertising and economics.
- CQ Researcher: complete reports on controversial health
related topics and federal legislation
- OxResearch: provides analytical articles covering world
and regional economic and political developments of major significance
compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members
at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as
think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
- Wiley Interscience: search full-text journal articles in
many areas of science. Searches may be combined between disciplines (Ex.
business and biology)
- Social Sciences Full Text*: indexes publications and
peer-reviewed research.
- SocINDEX*: offers coverage from all subdisciplines of
sociology, including criminology, cultural sociology, demography, economic
development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, social
psychology, social structure, urban studies, welfare, and others.
- PsycINFO: citations and summaries of scholarly journal
articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and
related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the
covered material is peer-reviewed. Also try PsycARTICLES and PsycEXTRA.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete: search
citations, abstracts and articles in communication, media and related fields.
- Lexis-Nexis: 100% full-text newspapers, magazines and
journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Choose News, Business
or Medical for articles and research in these areas.
Recommended general interest indexes:
- Academic Search Premier*: Our most popular general index.
Many full-text articles. Easy search and retrieval. Many older articles.
- ProQuest Databases*: Excellent multi-subject index, with
many full-text articles. Very easy to search.
- WilsonWeb: OmniFile Full-Text Mega*: Another
multi-subject index. Lots of full-text.
- Britannica Online (use this link)
: the online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Search on
your country.
*To limit search to
peer-reviewed journals only, look for check box next
to Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Journals, or Academic Journals on database search
screen (may be in Advanced Search)
Finding quality websites
These are indexes to quality web sites that have been reviewed by librarians.
The sites have been checked for accuracy, timeliness, stability, and will
generally conform to the standards of academic research. However, please be
judicious in the use of websites in general, because anybody can put anything on
the web.
For more detailed
help, download our LIBRARY GUIDES (.doc format) :
Go to:
Finding
Books | Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites
Created
and adapted by C.
Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 07/11/2007