CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
HIST 490 - History and
Memory in the U.S. and Latin America
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu (310)243-2084
Go to: Finding
Books | Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites | Library
Guides
Concepts and questions for beginning
research:
- Where to Start?
- What's your research question?
- What information do you need to find?
- Who cares about the same information? (e.g.: researchers,
historians, government, etc.)
- What kind of information do they need?
- Where would they get it?
- Types of information available
- Books
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
- Websites
- What is a primary source? What is a secondary
source? Click here to find out.
- Search Concepts
- Boolean operators
- 1. AND: Adidas AND marketing
2. OR: Adidas OR Nike
3. NOT:
Adidas NOT shoes
- Phrase searching"" ( "Nike Sportswear of America")
- USE THE HELP SCREENS
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude,
librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific
call number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few keywords (in separate boxes), such as
genealogy, ethnography or postmodernism. Add terms
like anthology, novel or periodical.
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference librarian.
- Recommended indexes to older publications:
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - REF
AI3. R47 (Index Table)
- Humanities Index - REF AI3. H85 (Index Table)
- International Index - REF AI3. L57 (Index
Table)
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature - REF
AI3. P7 (Index Table)
Go to: Finding
Websites
Magazine, journal and newspaper articles online
NOTE: These are subscription
databases, selected and provided specifically for CSUDH students.
To access from home, please see our Remote Patron Access Instructions guide for login
instructions.
Recommended indexes:
- America History and Life : indexes over 2000
journals on American History.
- JSTOR: Peer reviewed journal articles on a wide
range of Humanities subjects.
- Historical Abstracts: World history from 1450 to
the present.
- Humanities Full Text: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- Social Sciences Full Text : Scroll down list to
find database name.
- Los Angeles Times Historical Index: Scanned L.A.
Times articles and images from 1881-1968.
These indexes are not specifically history related, but they
are very good for information on general and local subjects:
- Britannica Online : the online version of Encyclopedia
Britannica. Search on your topic or subject.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- Project Muse: a multi-subject scholarly article index
Finding quality websites
These are indexes to quality web sites that have been reviewed
by librarians. The sites have been checked for accuracy, timiliness, stabilty,
and will generally conform to the standards of academic research. However,
please be judicious in the use of websites in general, because anybody can put
anything on the web.
For more detailed help, download our LIBRARY GUIDES (.doc format) :
Go to: Finding
Books | Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites
This page last updated on 9/7/05 by C. Bordinaro