CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
HIST 301 - The Individual, Family and Community in Society
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu
310-243-2084
Go to: Finding Books
| Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites | Library Guides
Concepts and questions for beginning
research:
- Where to Start?
- What's your research question?
- What information do you need to find?
- Who cares about the same information?
(e.g.: researchers, historians, government, etc.)
- What kind of information do they need?
- Where would they get it?
- Types of information available
- Books
- Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
- Websites
- Search Concepts
- Boolean operators
- 1. AND: Adidas AND marketing
2. OR: Adidas OR Nike
3. NOT:
Adidas NOT shoes
- Phrase searching"" ( "Nike Sportswear of America")
- USE THE HELP SCREENS
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude,
librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific
call number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few
keywords (in separate boxes).
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference librarian.
Go to: Finding
Websites
Magazine, journal and newspaper articles online
NOTE: These are subscription
databases, selected and provided specifically for CSUDH students.
To access from home, please see our Remote Patron Access Instructions guide for login
instructions.
Recommended indexes:
- America History and Life : indexes over 2000 journals on
American History.
- Historical Abstracts : World history from 1450 to the
present.
- Humanities Full Text: Scroll down list to find database
name.
- JSTOR: Peer reviewed journal articles on a wide range of
Humanities subjects.
- Social Sciences Full Text : Scroll down list to find
database name.
These indexes are not specifically history related, but they are very good
for information on general subjects and current news:
- Britannica Online (use this link): the
online version of Encyclopedia Britannica. Search on your country.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find
database name.
- Lexis-Nexis: Newspapers, magazines and journals on a wide
range of topics. Also try their Online Almanac (under
Reference)
Finding quality websites
These are indexes to quality web sites that have been reviewed by librarians.
The sites have been checked for accuracy, timiliness, stabilty, and will
generally conform to the standards of academic research. However, please be
judicious in the use of websites in general, because anybody can put anything on
the web.
- Infomine
(infomine.ucr.edu): A project from the Univeristy of California
and other universities, it is a searchable index of websites specifically
appropriate for university research. Click on SocSci & Humanities to
search their specialized index.
- Librarian's Index to
the Internet (www.lii.org): Index of websites reviewed by
librarians, geared toward the general public. Choose a topic from the index or
use Advanced Search to search for keywords.
- CSUDH Humanities Internet Guide
(library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/human.htm): Resource guide for
humanities sites on the Internet compiled by CSUDH librarians.
- Evaluating Information on the Web: Here is a very good checklist from the
Pasadena City College Library for judging the quality of not only information
on the Internet, but any information you may want to use for an assignment.
Go to: Finding Books
| Finding
Magazines, Newspapers and Journals | Finding
Websites
Created and adapted by
C. Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 7/11/07