csudhlogo csudhlogo csudhlogo
csudh_logo Index Page Search Page CSUDH Home Page csudh_banner csudhlogo
Library Banner
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite


CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

America at Home:1950-2000
HIS 490.1 Senior Seminar

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales            (310) 243-2088

CSUDH Library Home Page: http://library.csudh.edu/



What you need | Books | Logging in | Journal Articles | Databases |
| Types of Resources | Interlibrary Loan |
| Internet Resources | University Archives |

WHAT YOU NEED TO USE LIBRARY RESOURCES:

1. A registered library card:

  • Take your CSUDH photo ID card with proof of current registration and one other photo ID
    to the Library Circulation Department on the 2nd floor of the library. Once the staff has swiped your ID card, it works as a library card.
  • If you will be borrowing books from the CSUDH Library, take a close look at
    the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.


2. Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) should be installed on your computer.

           Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format, and you need Adobe            Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
           Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

 

       

Books

Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you
to request books directly from other libraries (LINK+ and "All CSUs Catalog" buttons).

Some possible subject headings to check include:

California Southern--- (various subjects)
Los Angeles Calif History 20th Century
Los Angeles Calif Politics And Government 20th Century
Los Angeles Calif Social conditions 20th century
Los Angeles Co--- (various subjects)


Links to other local libraries and libraries worldwide:

Back to top


HOW TO FIND and LOG IN TO CSUDH LIBRARY ELECTRONIC DATABASES:

1.     Go to the Library Home Page.

2.     Under Library Materials, click Journal Articles & Electronic Resources.

3.     Click Alphabetical List of Journal Article Indexes or Subject List of Journal Article Indexes.

4.     When you click on the title of a database to log in to, you'll see this login screen:



Welcome to CSU Dominguez Hills!

The resources you have requested are restricted.

Please enter:
  Your Last Name   (Example: Smith)
     

 

14 numeric characters of your CSUDH ID barcode number

 



 


What is a barcode number?

Your barcode ID number is the 14-digit number
made up of the 5-digit number 20550
followed by your 9-digit student ID number.

Example: 20550982340006

(please do not use spaces, dashes or hyphens)

NOTE: Your barcode ID Number will work only
if you are already registered in the CSUDH Library Patron Database.

If you have checked out books from the Library
you are automatically registered.


Enter your last name and your 14 digit barcode ID# (20550 followed by your student ID number, no spaces or dashes). Then click Login.

Back to Top




Journal Articles

 

  • To access the database of your choice, click on a database link below
    OR
    use our list of Article Indexes to select from all CSUDH databases.
  • To see a detailed review of how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside these words.
  • Use connecting words ( Boolean operators) to join search terms and narrow the results of database searches.

    Boolean searching is a way of using simple connecting words to combine search terms
    so that you retrieve what you really want.
    Most journal indexes now provided convenient dropdown boxes that allow you to combine search terms.

    Three common Boolean operators or connecting words:

    •  AND means every term you type must be present in the record:

    For example: women AND Los Angeles.
    This is an effective way to narrow your search results.

    •  OR means one of the terms must be present in the record.

    For example: black OR African American.
    This is an effective way to broaden your search results.

    •  NOT means that a term must not be present in the record.
    For example: volume NOT book .
    Be aware that you may get rid of references that could have been useful.

    You can also, in most electronic databases, truncate a word in order to retrieve different forms of that word.
    For example: theat* retrieves records containing the words theater, theatre, theatrical and so on .
    As each database handles truncation differently, read help screens.

    Boolean operators can be combined with truncation to make your search results quite specific
    For example: (women or female*) and (right* or suffrage or liberation) and California *

Back to top



Best Databases for U.S. History Research:

  • America : History and Life: major bibliographic database in North American history; includes citations and abstracts of over 2000 journals; 1982+; some links to full text in other databases.

  • JSTOR: (full text of almost 1000 scholarly journals in many areas, incl. a variety of social sciences; full text of back runs of 60+ history journals )

  • Project Muse: full text of over 50 scholarly history journals.

  • Academic Search Premier: multi-disciplinary database with full text for almost 4700 publications, including peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it includes citations, abstracts and extensive full text in social sciences and humanities.

  • Social Sciences Full Text: Indexing and articles for over 100 history journals.

  • WilsonWeb: selected full text of over 4000 Humanities and Social Sciences journals.

Good full text databases for full text of newspapers and popular magazines:

    Los Angeles Times Historical: searchable scanned files of all Los Angeles Times articles from 1881 through 1985.

    Los Angeles Times: (ProQuest Database, 1988 - current)

    ABI Inform / ProQuest Newsstand - (easy access to full text of many newspapers, (such as New York Times,1980 to date, Washington Post, 1987 to date)popular magazines and some scholarly journals)

    LEXIS-NEXIS: (Full text of most U.S. and many international newspapers)

 

Print indexes, located near the area behind the Library Reference Desk, are still necessary for getting at articles in some older publications (especially newspapers outside Los Angeles earlier than 1985, such as New York Times) or in those for which the Library does not subscribe to a database.

Reference librarians will help you select the best databases and indexes for your topic.

Older journals and newspapers may be in bound volumes in the book stacks or on microfilm. Staff at the Reference/ Information Desk on the Second floor of the Library will help you locate and use microfilm.

How do I find the full text of articles and resources cited in an electronic database when the complete article is not included in the database?

  • Many records have no link to full text at the end of the citation / abstract because they refer to an article for which the journal index includes only a citation and / or abstract. If you click on the underlined title of an item in your results, you will still see only the citation and abstract .

To find out whether CSUDH owns the date you need of a specific journal:

-click the blue "Check Availability of Full Text" Other sources to locate this title icon.
This opens a new small window that displays any available sources of the full text of that article. You will see a display of all hard copy and print holdings of the CSUDH Library for that journal title.

Back to top

 

 


Types of Resources: Is it a primary or secondary resource or what ??

Primary sources are materials created by individuals involved in and affected by a historical event or era, and may include, among other things, letters, diaries, contemporary newspapers and magazines, recorded or transcribed interviews, maps and museum exhibits.

Secondary sources are created by individuals removed from and therefore not directly affected by the event who are seeking to understand or explain it, often by referring to and analyzing primary sources.
Articles and books by historians are frequently used secondary sources.

A good research paper draws on both primary and secondary sources to create a new and original secondary source.

For more in-depth information, visit this website created by a librarian to assist students:

Identifying Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

Back to top

 




What if the CSUDH Library does NOT carry in any form a specific journal article or book that I need?

    To request a book, you can either:


*   look the book up in LINK+ , and, if it appears there, place a request with a
fellow LINK+ campus (LINK+ books usually arrive here within 3 or 4 days)


OR

* click the Find Books at Other Libraries button on the CSUDH University Library Catalog web page and check for holdings at other academic or large public libraries you can visit in person

OR

*  use the online ILL book request form to submit an electronic request OR submit an Interlibrary Loan request at the Reference Desk on the second floor of the Library.

   To request an article, you can either:


*   request an article directly when the message
Full Text of Article is NOT available in CSUDH Library
Click HERE to request item from another library

appears after you click the blue "Check Availability" icon.

OR

* use the online ILL article request form to submit an electronic request
(the article will usually be emailed to you, but will take at least a week to arrive.


OR
 

*  submit an Interlibrary Loan request at the Reference Desk on Library 2nd floor.
  

Back to Top



      

 
Help with Internet Website Evaluation:

Five criteria for evaluating Web pages

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly: or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources

 

A Few Useful Websites:


Back to top



CSUDH Archives & Special Collections
: LIB G145

Three Major Divisions:

1. University Archives of California State University, Dominguez Hills

2. California State University System Archives

3. Local history collection:

a. Rancho San Pedro
b. Dominguez Family
c. Compton and other South Bay Cities founded on original Rancho lands.


Back to top



Citing Your Sources


It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make notes as you are working to keep track
of sources of information you use while doing your research.

How to Cite Your Sources in a Research Paper shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in
APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.

Other good citation guides:

Researching in History: Finding and Documenting Sources (Diana Hacker's website)

Using Chicago Style to Cite and Document Sources (Chicago Manual of Style guidelines)



Back to top






California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 .
(310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2007 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact mailto:copyright@csudh.edu

Last updated 02/05/07 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills   LIB B-218
(310) 243-2088