A. If a broad overview or introduction to a subject is desired, a book or maybe
even an encyclopedia may be the best place to start, rather than turning
immediately to journals. However, most books will generally not have the
very latest information on a topic, in which case one must use journals.
B. Journal articles tend to deal with narrower, more specific aspects of a topic
and/or may present research findings. Journal articles are a necessary
adjunct to books in order to obtain the most recent information about a
topic.
C. Internet is also an information resource which is quickly growing in
importance. Information is often very current. However, be careful since
anyone can post anything on the Internet. Make sure that whatever
Internet information you may use is from an authoritative, reputable source.
A. Books are listed in the OPAC computers and can be retrieved by author,
title, and subject.
1. Try a sample search on 'Geographic Information Systems' as a subject
B. General Call Number area for GIS is G70.2
1. However, specific applications (e.g. business) of GIS will generally be
found under call number for the particular subject of the application
(e.g. HF for GIS business applications)
C. Sample Reference Books
1. International GIS Dictionary (Ref G70.212 M33 1995)
2. California Cities, Towns, & Counties -- Basic Data Profiles for all
Municipalities & Counties, 2000 (Ref HA261 C295 2000)
3. SourceBook of ZIP Code Demographics (Ref HA203 S68 1993)
4. Encyclopedia of Associations (Ref HS17 E5 2001)
A. Cartography and Geographic Information Science
B. International Journal of Geographical Information Science
This is basically a two step process:
A. Find the journal article citations/references in Journal Article Indexes
B. Locate the full text of the articles (print copy, microfilm, online version)
Found mainly on Internet computers, with a few also on CD-ROM computers
A. The Journal Article Index Databases are simply computerized indexes of
journal articles which allow you to retrieve lists of articles about the subject
you are researching. i.e. type in the subject and the computer will give you
a list of articles about the subject.
B. Keep in mind that numerous Journal Article indexes may give only a
citation and sometimes an abstract of the article and often may not contain
the full text of the article.
In those cases where the index only gives a citation, it will be necessary
to undertake an additional separate step in order to find the full text of
the article. (See Section VI below).
C. Journal Article Indexes useful for GIS (http://library.csudh.edu/electdb.php)
1. Academic Search Premier (full-text and citations only)
General purpose index which covers about 3200 English language journals
2. ABI Inform (mostly full-text)
Since this is a business journals index, use this to look for
applications of GIS to business
3. Elsevier Science Direct (full-text)
Primarily a science index covering the 1180 journals published by
this publisher
4. Wiley Interscience Journals (full-text)
Primarily a science index covering the 390 journals published by this
publisher
5. Dow Jones -- Full Text
Good for obtaining information about a company or particular industry
A. Look in the CSUDH Journals List (http://library.csudh.edu/)
B. Be sure to look up the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article.
1. In CSUDH Journals List look up the title of the journal and
then examine the holdings information carefully to determine where
the specific volume you are looking for can be found
2. Be sure to distinguish whether the particular volume of the journal
you are looking for is on the current shelves, on microfilm, in the
book stacks, or is available electronically online.
VII. Government Publications
Use MOCAT (Catalog of U.S. Government Publications)
(http://library.csudh.edu/ElectDB.php)
VIII. Internet
A . Web Sites of of individual municipalities often contain valuable data of
geographic interest.
1. Redondo Beach (http://www.redondo.org/)
2. Torrance (http://www.ci.torrance.ca.us/)
B. Census Data (http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/stats.htm)
C. Annual Reports (http://library.csudh.edu/cyberlib/business.htm)
IX. Interlibrary Loan
Can use Inter-Library Loan to obtain books and articles in journals not owned
by CSUDH.
X. Citing your Sources
See Library Web Page at http://library.csudh.edu/citesrc.htm
J. Broude 9/17/01