CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
Graduate Education
(GED 503/508, Fall 2004)
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu
310-243-2084
Finding Journal Articles
- ERIC: through EBSCOHost, indexes education journal articles, newsletters, reports and other documents. Limited full text available. Scroll down list to find database name. May be searched concurrently with PsycINFO.
- Education Full Text: from Wilson, select Education in subject box*.
- PsycINFO: through EBSCOHost, indexes psychology journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. May be searched concurrently with ERIC. Scroll down list to find database name.
These are databases are not specifically education-related, but they are very good for information on sociology, culture, humanities, trends and current news:
- Academic Search Premier*
- ProQuest Databases*
- Humanities Full Text: Scroll down list to find database name.*
- JSTOR: Peer reviewed journal articles on a wide range of Humanities subjects.
- Social Sciences Full Text : Scroll down list to find database name.*
- Country Watch: choose your country to find cultural information, latest news, data and statistics.
*To limit search to peer-reviewed journals only, look for check box next to Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Journals, or Academic Journals on database search screen (may be in Advanced Search)
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude, librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
2nd BONUS!! Check out the series "How to Read A Paper" on various types of research articles and what to look for in them.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific call number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few keywords (in separate boxes).
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference librarian.
Search Tips:
- Try Advanced Search for more search options
- Always use the Print and Save functions embedded within the screen. It is usually not a good idea to use the File-Print or File-Save As functions in the upper left hand corner of the browser.
- Use the online HELP screens - they really are helpful!
Created by C.
Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian
8/24/07