California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
University Library
   

CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Research Methods in Education GED 500

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales

(310) 243-2088

 








Go to: | Find a Specific Article | Journal Articles on a Topic | Thesaurus |
| Summary of searching | Electronic BooksBooks |
| Interlibrary Loan | Internet | Citing sources | Class Handout |



Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles, use one of the journal article indexes (you'll also hear us call them electronic databases or just "databases").

To use CSUDH databases when you're off campus: 

1.  You must be a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.

2.  Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) must be installed on
      your computer.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format;
      you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them
.
      Get the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader free at       http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  • For detailed information on how to log in to CSUDH Electronic databases, click here.
  • For an overview of how to use CSUDH databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside
    these words.

  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of Journal Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH databases.

 




Finding a Specific Journal Article

* When you already have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library subscribes to the journal you need by consulting the CSUDH Journals List.
The CSUDH Journals List helps you locate both online and print journal articles as well as older articles that may be available in the CSUDH Library
in bound volumes or on microfilm.

For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the
Find a Specific Article
tutorial.

Back to Top



Finding Journal Articles about a Topic

When you don't already have a citation or reference to a specific journal article, find articles by using one of our journal article indexes
(you'll also hear us call them databases).

For a detailed review of how to use the databases to find journal articles,
click here
.
To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside these words before you begin searching.

  • ERIC: Comprehensive database covering a wide range of education subjects; includes both journal articles and miscellaneous educational materials.
  • Education Full Text: covers varying runs of almost 600 education publications.
  • Academic Search Premier: Multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,650 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point since it covers a wide range of subject areas.
  • PsycINFO: citations and abstracts to scholarly journals in psychology and related disciplines; many references to education-related topics.
  • JSTOR: long back runs of 8 classic education journal titles.
  • Wiley InterScience: full text of 16 journals; under "Subject", click beside Education.

Back to Top




Thesaurus
(locates correct descriptors/subject headings to use in search
)  

  • Locate a Thesaurus button or link on the screen (sometimes called
    "Subject Headings" or "Subject Index", depending on the database you are using.)
  • Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading
    into the appropriate box.
  • Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that
    defines the term as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower,
    broader
    and related terms.
  • Either copy down useful descriptors/subject headings or cut and paste them
    into the search screen where you are working.
  • You can also find valid descriptors listed in a column to the left of most sets of search results.

    Back to Top






Summary of Searching (also applies to most databases)

  • Enter your search terms.
  • (Optional) Focus your search by choosing a Field Code from the All Fields
    dropdown list on each line you use. 
    e.g.: to search for the subject "cooperative learning", enter it in the Find field, and select SU-Subject.
  • Enter additional search terms in the optional search fields.
  • Connect multiple search terms with connector words (AND, OR, NOT)
    to create a very broad or a very narrow search.
    Tip: Put all OR search terms that belong together
          (e.g. middle school OR junior high OR  intermediate school)
          into the same "Find" box on one line
    .      
  • Select other appropriate search limiters and "broadeners" (click on check boxes
    beside options, located just below boxes where you entered your search terms).
Back to Top

Electronic Books

Check the Electronic Books page for links to Ebrary (scholarly books) as well as netLibrary (more scholarly books), Gale reference books and more!

Back to Top





Books



Interlibrary Loan
(Request item from another library)

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own a specific journal or book you need,
fill out an appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  
and submit an electronic request. You will be notified by email when the item
you need has been received.

               A print or electronic copy of the requested item will be obtained from another
               library, but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.
              
Note: books requested through LINK+ usually arrive faster, usually
                within 3 to 5 days
.

             

    Back to Top





The Internet

Google is still an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are doing, it will lead you to millions of web pages on and hundreds of subtopics.

Three tips:

  • Use Google's Advanced Search page to do a more precise search.
  • When using information from the web for projects and research papers, remember to evaluate the quality and reliability of the information.
    For evaluation criteria, try Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
    (Cornell University Library) and
    Evaluating Information on the Web
    (Pasadena City College Librar
    y).
  • Google Scholar lets you search some scholarly literature, including many peer reviewed articles,  but note that you may not be able to freely access the full text of the article.
    For scholarly literature, the Library databases listed above are usually a better
    option for beginning your research.

    Back to Top


Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of all of the materials that you used. Make notes as you are doing research to keep track of sources of information you use.

Take a look at the Library's citation guide, Citing Your Sources, in advance so you'll know before you begin your research what information about each information source to gather. (
Citing Your Sources is a tutorial that shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in APA, MLA, and Turabian formats).


Check with each professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.


           Back to Top



Class Handout on ERIC (long version)

         

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION-- Research Methods in Education: GED 500

          •  GED 500 website: http://library.csudh.edu/SubjectGuides/GED500Cooper.htm

•  CSUDH Library Home Page: http://library.csudh.edu/
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  •  What is ERIC?

      -- Educational Resources Information Center, a major U.S. Department of Education
         database that  provides access to education literature (journal articles and
         miscellaneous documents) from 1966 to date.


•  Use ERIC to find a journal article when you already have the citation:

.  If you think an article you need may be in ERIC, search for it by entering pieces     of information you already have into the ERIC Find boxes.

e.g.: to find an article entitled "Cooperative Learning and Critical Thinking" by
         James Cooper in the Vol. 22, No 1, Feb.,1995 issue of Teaching of Psychology:
        1. type cooperative learning into the top "Find" text box.
           - click the dropdown box to the right to read TI Title.
           - click the dropdown box at the beginning of the second line to read And.
        2. type Cooper James in the "Find" text box on the second line.
            - click the dropdown box at the end of the second line to read AU Author.
        3. type the journal title into the "Limit your Results" section under Journal Name
            - click the Search button.
OR
.  If you're not sure which database contains the journal, look in the "CSUDH
   Journals List" ( link is on the Library home page).
        - type the name of the journal into the CSUDH Journals List "Find" box.
        - the CSUDH Journals list page will tell you whether we have a full text
          copy of a journal, and will lead you to whichever databases contain full text,
          as well as to print and/or microfilm if we have it.

•  Use ERIC to find articles on a topic:

* Analyze your question or topic looking for its unique concepts and vocabulary :
    - Write down the most important key words or phrases.
    - Develop a list of synonyms for each word or phrase.
The resulting words or phrases are your search terms.

* Use connector words to combine your search terms:

AND
will narrow search results
        e.g. cooperative learning (on 1st line) AND mathematics (on 2nd line)
OR will broaden search
        e.g. middle school OR junior high
NOT will narrow ( limit ) search.
        e.g. mathematics NOT algebra

•  ERIC contains two types of material:

1. Journal articles: citations & abstracts of over 1 million articles from 1000+    professional journals, 1882 to date (ERIC Journal numbers all begin with EJ)
AND
2. ERIC Documents: unpublished materials of all types, archived by ERIC; includes     conference papers, books, speeches, government reports, teaching guides, lesson     plans and other education literature. ( Eric Documents numbers all begin with ED)

NOTE: for assignments that ask you to find JOURNAL ARTICLES only, eliminate unwanted Document (ED) results by limiting your results (under the "Refine Search" tab) to Journal articles.

•  View and Print your Search Results in ERIC:
. Results (each one is called a record ) appear listed by date, most recent first .
. Each record includes a citation and an abstract with your search terms highlighted
. Subject headings assigned to articles in your search appear to the left of the records.   Use these in subsequent searches to get more precise or better results.
. To see more information about an article, click on the article title .
. To see the complete article (full text), click either "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text"
. MANY ERIC records have a Other sources to locate this title icon at the end of the abstract.
  Click it to see if the article is in a different database or in printed or microfilm form.

Printing articles: when you print articles in .pdf format, use only the printer icon closest to the printing in the article.
DO NOT use the browser menu "File/Print" command!

•  Get articles or books the CSUDH Library does not own:

•  If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal article you need ,    use the online Interlibrary Loan form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm to submit an    electronic Interlibrary Loan request.
   A copy of that article will be obtained from another library and emailed to you, but
   will usually take at least a week or longer to arrive
.



!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* Internet Searching-how to Google: www.google.com

*    Search for complete phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks!

Searching for phrases in quotation marks will return all pages containing exactly the words in quotation marks in the exact order you entered them.

*   Use Google's Advanced Search Page so you can:

-limit your search to a specific web domain e.g.: .edu
-restrict your search to pages in a given language
-tweak your search so it meets your needs!

*Google's Language Tools Page lets you translate pages or passages in a
       language you don't know.

   *      Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/: fun to try, but don't rely on it!

-- Scholar is free, but its links to full text often cost from $12 -$75.
-- Google still hasn't listed what's included in Google Scholar, but we do know that many of the journals included in Library databases are not included.

  • Useful websites for Graduate Education students:

  •  Education Week: weekly online resource for current trends and topics in education.
          -clicking on "Research" takes you to "Research Tools / Research Issues A-Z",
           research-based essays on over 50 topics in education.
          - also has current and older full text articles online (you must register in the upper RH
            corner of the page before gaining access to articles--even when registered, you are
            restricted  to two free articles per week).

          - to find full text of articles in Education Week without subscribing, type the title of
            any Education Week article into  Academic Search Premier (most recent three
            weeks will NOT be available).


  • Promising Practices Network: evidence-based best practices site; under "Programs That Work", go to "Direct Instruction".

  • "How to Read A Paper" discusses various types of research articles and what to look for in   them (article focuses on medical research, but many of the suggested criteria for   evaluation apply to research in other fields).

  • U.S. Dep't. of Education ERIC website:
    - website for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations   going back to 1966; more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued  1993- 2006),   available free (same as the ED items from Ebsco ERIC).

    - students who don't know how to access Library databases often end up searching here, BUT the official government version of ERIC has almost NO links to full text journal articles (although it does now contain links to many non-journal ERIC Documents).

  •   Educator's Reference Desk (formerly AskEric): contains over 2000  lesson plans, 3000   pointers to education information & organizations, and 200 question archives.

  •   New locations of material formerly in Dept. of Ed. ERIC Clearinghouses: 
     
     Most of the new locations archive the ERIC materials, rather than updating them.
       Active sites are noted here. (Thanks to CSU Chico Library for this link!)



    Back to Top

 



California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu

Last updated 02/05/08 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088