CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
|
|
Multinational Finance
(Prof. Torbat FIN 488/503, Fall 2004)
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian cbordinaro@csudh.edu 310-243-2084
|
|
Questions to ask before
beginning research:
- Where to Start?
- What's your research question?
- What information do you need to find?
- Who cares about the same information? (e.g.: the government,
competitors, investors, etc.)
- What kind of information do they need?
- Where would they get it?
- Types of information available
- Company and consular publications, such as websites, annual reports,
etc. (primary sources)
- Country studies, Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
(secondary sources)
- Statistical, numeric and tabular data (primary or secondary)
- Search Concepts
-
Boolean operators
- AND: Adidas AND marketing
- OR: Adidas OR Nike
- NOT: Adidas NOT shoes
- Phrase searching " ": "Nike Sportswear of America"
- Advanced Search
-
USE THE HELP SCREENS
- BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff
Broude, librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Country Specific Information
University Library
- To find books on doing business in specific countries: go to TOROFIND: the
CSUDH Library Catalog and search on the title doing
business in or doing business with, and look
for your country listed in the title. Look not only for that specific call
number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see your country listed, or want more titles, try an
on
business and your country
(in separate boxes).
- If you still don't see your country listed, ask a reference librarian.
Statistics
| Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources | Research
Questions
Country Information and Statistics
Country Overviews
University Library
- Statesman's Year-Book [Ref JA51.S7]
- Europa World Year Book [Ref JN1 .E85]
- World Almanac [Ref and 3rd floor AY67.N5 W7]
- EIU Country Commerce series: In looseleaf binders, one for every country
[Ref HG4538 C68]
Subscription Databases*
NOTE: To access any of
our subscription databases from home, please see our Remote Patron Access Instructions guide for login
instructions.
- ABI/Inform Business Global: indexes international business articles in
magazines, scholarly and trade journals, newsletters and reports.
- Business Source Premier: also indexes business articles in many formats.
Scroll down list to find database name.
- Lexis-Nexis: Select Business from left column, then choose what type of
information you need. Also try their Online Almanac (under
Reference)
- Business Full-text: In Subject Area box, select Business. Select multiple
subjects by holding down CTRL key.
- Factiva: Choose a free text search, or you may limit by region or subject.
These are general databases, not specifically business-related, but very good
for information on country information and current news:
- Country Watch: choose your country to find latest news, data and
statistics.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service): Scholarly
research on international economic policy. Search on Economics and Politics
and <your country>.
- Britannica Online (use this link) : the online version of
Encyclopedia Britannica. Search on your country.
- Academic Search Premier: Scroll down list to find database name.
- ProQuest Databases
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
- US Government sites and academic resources:
- Country
Studies: Area Handbooks : Prepared by the Library of Congress for U.S.
military and foreign service personnel, these offer a brief history of a
country, describe its culture and survey the country's economic and
political environment. They are book length reports which can be retrieved a
section at a time.
- Country Commercial Guides Prepared by the U.S.
Department of State as well. These give detailed summaries of political and
economic conditions, provide guides for marketing U.S. products and describe
potential sectors for U.S. investing and exports.
- Background Notes
produced by the U.S. State Department, contains overview of countries,
their governments and history. Reports are much briefer than the Country
Studies.
- Travel Warnings & Consular Information Sheets:
briefings for U.S. travelers and expatirates about conditions they might
encounter when traveling in other countries.
- globalEDGE hosted
by Michigan State University, a portal to information on international
business.
- International Economic Trends: From the Federal Reserve
Bank of St. Louis.
- International Information:
- United Nations Conference
on Trade and Development -- working toward the integration of developing
countries in to the world economy. Many useful reports and statistics, and a
very user-friendly search engine. Available in English, French and Spanish.
- Most countries interested in international trade and development will
have a website dedicated to promoting trade. Try a search on <your
country> "international trade" or "direct foreign investment" to find the
closest match.
- World Development Indicators: From the World Bank. Search
on 54 timeseries indicators for 208 countries and 18 groups, spanning the
latest 5 years available.
- World Bank
Countries and Regions: Economic overview and current news. Search by
country.
- World Factbook: From the CIA, annual summary of basic
intelligence on all countries of the world.
- Commercial and private sites:
Statistics
University Library
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: Contains tables with
basic economic and demographic statistics for most countries. [Ref HA202 .A36
]
- Europa World Year Book: Comprehensive political histories,
demographic, economic, infrastructure and statistical data for every country.
[Ref JN1 .E85]
- International Financial Statistics Yearbook: Contains current data
and time series on all aspects of international and domestic finance for IMF
member countries. [Ref HG61 .I57]
Subscription Databases*
- STAT-USA: the data site for the U.S. business, economic and trade
community, providing economic, business, and international trade information
produced by the U.S. Government. Available information is divided into two
main areas: "State of the Nation" consists of current and historical financial
and economic data from Federal government sources and related entities.
"GLOBUS" and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) provide current and
historical trade-related releases; international market research reports;
trade opportunities and statistics; country analysis; and current exchange
rates. (Especially helpful are NTDB Market and Country Research Industry
Sector Analysis Reports.)
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
- US Government sites:
- Sites from international agencies:
- World Bank Data contains tables
with comparative population and economic data and a separate section with
country profiles
- United Nations has
population and economic statistics in tables (text version loads quicker)
- Eurostat : The statistics gathering office of the European
Community.
- Academic sites:
Statistics
| Overviews
| Country
Specific Information | Culture and
Communication | Currency
Converters | Additional
Resources
Currency Converters and Exchange Rates
Find todays equivalent to the US Dollar, or find the rate
of exchange from 1 month, 1 year or 1 century ago!
University Library
- Check any daily newspaper business section, such as the Wall Street
Journal , the New York Times, or the Los Angeles Times for currency values and
conversion tables.
Subscription Databases*
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
Additional Resources
University Library
- Encyclopedia of Associations: search for international industry
associations. These groups often post detailed reports and statistics on their
websites.
[Ref HS17 .E5]
World Wide Web: Generally Available Resources
*NOTE: These Subscription Databases must be accessed by using the
links at library.csudh.edu/DatabaseSubjectGuide/SubList.php?subject=Business.
For further exploration, go to the CSUDH library homepage
at library.csudh.edu, and select Find Journal Articles & Electronic Resources
at library.csudh.edu/FindJrnArtElecRes.php. You may either browse by subject area or go to your favorite
resource using the Alphabetical List at library.csudh.edu/ElectDB.php.
Statistics
| Country Specific
Information | Currency
Converters | Research
Questions
Created and adapted by C. Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 7/16/07
This handout adapted from information from the USC Crocker Business
Library and the UCLA Roselfeld Library, with help from Michael Oppenheim,
Charles Varga and Julie Kwan