California State University Dominguez Hills "" "" """"""""
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
University Library
     
   SUBJECT RESEARCH GUIDE

Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website

CSUDH Library and Information Resources for

Grants and Grant Writing for Education

For assistance, contact:
Naomi Moy
nmoy@csudh.edu
(310) 243-2086

To start your research, use the resources below or begin with the the CSUDH Library web page found at : http://library.csudh.edu/ .

The resources listed under the category of Online Article Indexes are available from on-campus computers or by remote access to CSUDH students who use their barcode ID number to access databases. The barcode ID number is 20550 followed by the nine-digit student ID number beginning with 98_ _ _ _ _ _ _.

Books

Books are located using the Library's ToroFind catalog. Here you can search for books by author, title or subject. In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links that allow you to directly request books from other libraries (All CSUs Catalog and LINK+ buttons). Links are provided below for other local libraries and libraries worldwide.

Reference Materials at CSUDH

These materials are directories that can be used to find potential sources for grants. Sources are located on the 2nd floor of the library in the Reference Collection.

Online Article Indexes

To find journal articles when you do not have a specific citation or reference to an article, try one of the article indexes. Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of Article Indexes to see all available CSUDH databases. The databases below can be used for information on education, ethnic populations, and general background information.

For a review of how to use the databases to find journal articles, click here. To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look for the words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed ' and place a check in the box beside these words. Although many of the databases have direct links for the full text or .pdf copy of the article included with the citation or abstract of the article, look for this button Other sources to locate this title to find out if the library has the article available in another database.

Locating a Specific Journal Title

If you have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, use the CSUDH Journals List to find out if subscribes to the needed journal. This list includes both print and online journals. The Library currently subscribes to over 27,000 journals online. When you click on the title, you will usually find a page that has separate links for the year of available volumes. Click on the year and then you will next be able to click on specific issues. CSUDH's list also includes links to the ToroFind catalog record for print subscription information.

When the Library doesn't have a copy of the article . . .

Although the library provides access to over 27,000 print and electronic journals, the indexing databases provide citations to a large number of journals which are not available in our print and electronic holdings. If you would like to have the library find a copy of an article for you, you can transmit the request using the Interlibrary Loan Service. Please allow at least 10 days for the article to arrive. If at all possible, we will try to send the article to you via email. The files will be .pdf files and will require that you have space available to receive these large files. We are also able to request books through three different methods. Your options are listed on the Request Item from Another Library webpage.

The Internet

When using information from the web for projects and research papers, you should evaluate the quality and reliability of the information. Here's a link to one of many websites which give you evaluation criteria: Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages. An outstanding search engine to use is Google. In addition, Google Scholar would enable you to search the scholarly literature, including peer reviewed articles, but note that you may not be able to access the full text of the article. For the scholarly literature, the databases listed above in the "Journal Articles & Newspapers" section will usually be a better option for beginning your research.

Currently, the Library does not subcribe to databases focussed on grant writing. For the topic of grants and grant writing, the Internet can be a good place to start to find out information regarding grants, especially if the websites are up-to-date and carry current announcements for grant opportunities, instructions, and dates for submitting grant requests.

Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used. There are several standard guides available in the Library to help you. Please come to the Reference Desk for assistance. In addition, the CSUDH Library has a summary of the formats most commonly used posted on the Library website. Take a look at this guide in advance so you'll know what information you need to jot down before you begin your research. It may be more difficult to retrace your steps than to make bibliographic note cards as you are working on your project.

Last updated by Naomi Moy 5/7/07.