California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
University Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website



""       LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: RESOURCES FOR
        Advanced Studies in Literature: ENG 501

            
CSUDH Library Home Page: http://library.csudh.edu/

       



Books

Borrowing Books:

  • To borrow books, take your
    CSUDH photo ID with a current sticker

    AND
    a second photo ID (such as driver's licence)
    to the Library Circulation Department on the 2nd floor of the library .

  • Before borrowing books, read the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.

  • Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject.
    In addition to finding materials available in the CSUDH Library, you will find links
    that enable you to request books directly from other libraries (LINK+ and "All CSUs Catalog" buttons).

    Here are links for other local libraries and libraries worldwide:




Locating Books by Using ToroFind Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC):

ü       Use keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings to find books with literary       criticism, critical or biographical information about an author, or information about a
      literary movement.

ü      Search any author's first and last names as subject keywords when looking for       critical literature about that author's works.

ü     Example of a typical "author as subject" entry:

      Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616-Criticism and interpretation

Here are other sample Library of Congress Subject Headings (aka LCSH):
( Ask Library Reference staff for the "big red books" that list subject headings)
Don't bother to type dashes and commas when you type a search into the catalog.

ü       Criticism

ü       Deconstruction

ü       English literature -- Research - Methodology

ü       Feminist criticism

ü       Historicism

ü      Shakespeare, William-1564-1616--Dramatic Production

"But I just want to browse...":
Most books by and about Shakespeare may be found in the PR 2750 - PR 3112 call number area on the Library 4th floor.
Reference books are in the PR 2750 ++ area on the 2nd floor (near the Reference Desk).

Back to Top



 


 To use CSUDH databases while you're off campus, Adobe Acrobat Reader software
     
(v. 7.0 or later) must already be installed on the computer you use.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
      and Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to read and/or print them.
      Get a new Adobe Acrobat Reader free at       http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  If you need help logging in to CSUDH databases, click here.

Back to Top






Recommended Electronic Databases for Literary Research:

  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of
    Article Indexes
    to see all available CSUDH databases.
  • For an in-depth review of how to use databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • Note: In general databases such as Academic Search Premier and Humanities Full Text,
    you may limit your results to peer reviewed articles by looking for the words "scholarly"
    and/or"peer reviewed" and placing a check in the box beside these words (you can also
    do this in MLA).



    • MLA International Bibliography: (indexed bibliographic records, no abstracts;
      occasional links to full text) of scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics,
      and folklore from 1963 to date. 
      The CSUDH LIbrary also has paper volumes of MLA International Bibliography
      back to 1921!

      Note: As MLA Bibliography is the database of the Modern Language Association,
      (not-for-profit organization committed to the study and teaching of language and literature),
      it should be the first place graduate English students check for electronic resources!
      (see Searching the MLA, below)


       
    • JSTOR:  indexing and full text of back issues of 70 frequently used language and
      literature journals, e.g.:  Shakespeare Quarterly, 1950-2001; suplies citations and
      abstracts only for 2002-2005 issues. (see JSTOR Tips, below). Most JSTOR language
      and literature titles are now indexed in MLA Bibliography.

    • Academic Search Premier: indexing, abstracts and high percentage of full text articles
      from journals in social sciences, humanities,   education, computer sciences, language and
      linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies.


    •  Humanities Full-Text (part of the larger database, Omni Full Text Mega): covers 1984 to
      date; includes indexing, abstracts and selected full text in Archaeology, Area Studies, Art,
      Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion
      and Theology; contains selected full text from 1995-date.

    • Digital Dissertations: citations, abstracts, 24 page previews as well as full text of many
      theses and dissertations
      from 1,000 grad schools and universities.
      Full text of recent CSUDH theses is at CSUDH Digital Masters Theses.

    • Literature Resource Center (Gale Group): access to biographies, bibliographiesand critical
      analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline; covers over 90 000 novelists, poets,
      essayists, journalists and other writers, with additional in-depth coverage of 2500 of the
      most-studied authors; good for an initial search or for use in conjunction with MLA, but not
      sufficient on its own when you need comprehensive results.

    • Project MUSE: includes indexing and full text of almost 70 drama, language and literature
      journals published by Johns Hopkins U. Press.

    • Oxford Journals: website of a major publisher of academic journals, many of which relate to literature studies.

Back to Top



 Searching the MLA International Bibliography:

·         How do I get to the MLAIB (without using the link above)?

1.        Go to the library website.

2.       Under Find Library Materials, Click Journal Articles and        Electronic Resources.

3.       Click on the "Alphabetical List of Journal Indexes." button.

4.       Click on "M", move your cursor down to MLA Bibliography & click it.

·         Does the MLAIB include any full text journal articles?

Yes, but fewer than 20% of the records for journal articles include actual links to full text.

Back to Top





 How to Do an Article Search in MLAIB:

·         MLAIB is not case sensitive.

·         Write down the most important key word or words that describe your topic.       Whenever possible, list synonyms for each word. The resulting words and /or       phrases are your search terms.

·    Type a word or phrase into the top Find box that describes what you are looking for:       e.g.:  Hamlet

      

 
  How can I get fewer results (narrow my search)?

*     type another word or phrase into the second Find box
          e.g.: postmodernism

     - Leave the small dropdown box to the left of your search set

        to AND. Your search then becomes:

                   Hamlet AND postmodernism

     - This strategy narrows your search (fewer results) because both words

        or  phrases you enter must be present in all results.

     AND is a connector word (sometimes called a Boolean operator).

       Combine search terms with AND whenever a search contains multiple concepts.

*    Limit your results, as needed, to a date range or to full text, or to a
   particular language
, by clicking in the boxes below your search
     (just below the "Refine Search" tab).

*    Choose an appropriate Field Code from the All Fields list on each line you use.

       e.g:, to search for the subject "Psychoanalytic criticism",  enter it in the Find            field, and select SU-Subject.
       You will then be searching only the Subject field of each record.

*    Use the connector word NOT (also a Boolean operator) to exclude unwanted     terms.

    NOT will narrow or limit your search (fewer results) because the excluded word     must not be present in results: Hamlet NOT Branagh

Back to Top


    
     
How can I get more results (expand my search)?

*         Use a truncation symbol


*        
Use a wild card symbol

e.g.: child* retrieves records with child, child's children, etc.

e.g.: wom?n retrieves woman or women

*         Add synonyms to your search with OR:            e.g.:  histor*OR past OR archiv*     
      (type all related OR terms on one line)This broadens the search (more results) because
      any one
 (but possibly more than one, or all) of the words or phrases you specify may be
      present in results.
 
     (OR
is a connector word or Boolean operator, just like AND and NOT  (above).

*  
   Expand your search to include related words (synonyms and plurals), by checking the
      appropriate box at the bottom of the Refine Search screen. 

*         Check your search terms for correct and alternate spellings and typos.

*     Reduce the number of concepts you are using, e.g. if you are searching for three concepts,
      try just searching for two.

Back to Top




Viewing the Results of a Search:

·         After entering your search terms and parameters, click the Search button.

·         The Result List will appear in table format listed by date, most recent first.
       (Optional: you can also sort articles by relevance or other criteria-see "Sort by" box,        top RH of each Results page)

·         (Optional) You can click on the Add  folder icon to the right of each result to collect all       of the best results from searches for viewing/saving/printing in a folder.

§         Each record in the Result List shows search terms highlighted in bold italicized type. Here are the two possible options, at least one of which will be offered on the last line of each record:

1.
  PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text -links to Full Text articles from other EBSCO databases and electronic journals to which we subscribe.

2.  The blue "Check Availability..." icon  appears after articles for which the MLAIB database itself includes only a citation, in other words, full text is not included in the journal index!  However, full text MAY appear in hard copy somewhere in the Library OR in a completely different journal index. Click to find out!

3.
Records without links of any kind are usually records of book chapters or dissertations. Check for books by title and/or author of book (after IN: in the database record) in the Library catalog .

Dissertations and theses may be requested on Interlibrary Loan.

Back to Top



 Q.What if the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific book
     or journal article that I need?

      A.Fill out an online Interlibrary Loan request form!

    To request a book, you can either:

§     look the book up in LINK+ , and, if it appears there, place a request with one of our     fellow LINK+ campuses. (these books usually arrive here within three to five days)
OR
§    click the Other Library Catalogs and Information bar at the bottom of the CSUDH University Library Catalog web page and check for holdings at other academic or large public libraries you can visit in person
OR
§   use the online ILL book request form to submit an electronic request.


   To request an article, you can either:

§   request an article directly when the message
Full Text of Article is NOT available in CSUDH Library
Click HERE to request item from another library

appears after you click the blue "Check Availability" icon .
OR
§   use the online ILL article request form to submit an electronic request.

Back to Top



 How do I Use the MLAIB Thesaurus?

§         If you are not sure of the correct descriptor (subject heading) for the topic you are       investigating,  the Thesaurus will help you find it.
     The Thesaurus currently contains 49,000 topical terms and 327,000 names.

o        Click the Thesaurus button on the green toolbar at the top of the screen.

o        In the box below the green Thesaurus tab, type a term for which you would like to identify a subject heading into the Browse box and click beside the Alphabetical or Relevancy Ranked radio buttons.

o        Click the Browse button.

o        You will see your term as used in the database, or the correct term for your search term, as well as a list of narrower, broader and related terms.

You can click directly on these terms, check the boxes beside them to search a combination of terms or cut and paste them into the search screen where you are working.

Back to Top



 Can I
Save, Print and / or Email Search Results?

         You can print, e-mail and save most individual articles, abstracts, and folders by clicking
         the appropriate commands on the EBSCO screens..

   PDF article exceptions:

o        to safely  email an article in .pdf format, open it, save it and e-mail it as an     attachment.

o        a .pdf article longer than 10 pages usually will not fit on a floppy disk.

o        save or print a .pdf article by clicking the appropriate icon closest to the     open full text  article (using the File/Save/Print menu will NOT work)

Back to Top




  How do I find an article in a specific journal?

 e.g.: Find an article in the Winter, 2003, issue of Papers on Language and Literature  entitled:          Performance Anxieties by Tim Conley.

              - type Papers on Language and Literature in the top "Find"  text box

                      -click the dropdown box to the right to read SO Journal_Title.

             -click the dropdown box at the beginning of the second line to read And            

             -type Performance Anxieties in the "Find" text box on the second line

                       -click the dropdown box at the end of the second line to read Title

              -type Conley in the Find box on the third line

                         - click the dropdown box at the end of the third line to read  AU_  Author.

              -click the Search button.  

If the above procedure does not find the article, go to the Find a Specific Article page
and try the procedure in section B.

Back to Top



 Tips for using JSTOR:

- use Advanced Search (not Basic or Expert Search).

- if you want only journal articles, check beside "Journal Articles" (below "Narrow your   search to...") to eliminate reviews and opinion pieces.

- unless you want to search journals from all disciplines, remember to select from These   Discipline(s) and / or Journal(s) to Search before you click Search .

- default search is Full-Text; JSTOR has no subject headings or thesaurus,
but you can limit to Abstract, Title, Caption or Author to refine your results.

- Truncation: search for the singular and plural forms of a word by placing & (the ampersand on your keyboard, made by typing Shift 7) at the end of the singular form.

- Proximity Operators: find terms within a specific number of words of each other using double quotes around the two words followed immediately by tilde ( ~ ) as a proximity operator and a numeral. E.g.: to search for an item with the terms Hamlet and mother within ten words of each other: e.g.: "Hamlet mother"~10 .
Use this tip to achieve more precise results when searching the full text of long articles.

- Relevance of Terms: increase the importance of any term in your search by using the caret symbol ( ^ ) followed by a number ("the boost factor"). e.g: example, the query: virtue^3 love gives instances of the word virtue in a document three times more weight than the word love (also helpful when searching the full text of long articles).

- all articles are in .pdf format and require that a recent version of Adobe Acrobat Reader be installed on your computer (http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html)

- use the Print /Save icons on top toolbar of Adobe Acrobat Reader, closest to the article full text (using Browser File /Save /Print menu commands produces flawed copies)

- Citing JSTOR articles: the citation is on the cover page of every article you print;
follow MLA guidelines.

- Click TIPS in the red toolbar across the top of the JSTOR screen for more useful hints.


Back to Top




  Film Review Resources

·         Journal Article databases:

      
§        
MLA International Bibliography:

           -excellent source for locating scholarly reviews of noteworthy films
            in humanities journals and monographs.

           Model search statement:

                       Film       in SU_Subjects-All

              AND Hamlet     in SU_Subjects-All

           §         Academic Search Premier:

          -check box to limit search to peer reviewed journals

§         Humanities Full-Text:

          -set "Document Type" to Film Review

 

·         Reference Books (on Library 2nd floor, west of reference desk):

§         Film Review Index (2 vol.)

       Citations to criticism of popular and landmark films; covers news and popular        magazines as well as trade publications

       Call Number: REF. PN1995 .F54 1986

§         Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals.
      Stephen Bowles, ed. (3 vol.)
      Indexes reviews in 31 scholarly film periodicals through 1971.

      Call Number: REF. PN1995 .B64

§         Motion Picture Guide

      12 vol. set offers brief plot summaries and an overview of critical reception and
      public reaction to American and foreign films and silent films. Volumes 11 and 12
      are an index to films released before 1985. (CSUDH does not own the
      accompanying annuals for post-1985 films). 

      Call Number: REF. PN1995 .N346

§         New York Times Film Reviews

      Reprints of 17,000+ full reviews as they appeared in The New York Times.

      Covers 1913-1988.                 

      Call Number: REF. PN1995 .N4

      (Note: NYT film reviews from 1960 to date, and a few older reviews, are
       searchable online at  http://movies.nytimes.com/ref/movies/reviews/

Back to Top



 Selected Internet Resources

        ·   MLA Formatting and Style Guide:
created and maintained by Purdue University,
             an exhaustive and authoritative guide to MLA format!

       · Google Scholar Advanced Search: good place to try out a concept or combination of
             keywords that turned up nothing in MLA Bibliography or other databases; gives you
             an idea of "what might be out there" on a topic or approach that does not want to be
            nailed down in MLAIB.

·      Feminist Literary Criticism and Theory: includes information on different literary genres, specific historical periods, literature, and literary theory.  

·    Literary Resources on the Net: a metasite of literary resources maintained by a dedicated Rutgers University professor; contains numerous links to e-texts and links to pages about individual authors.  

·      
Renaissance Materials: sub-page of the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts U., with primary and secondary resources in early modern English literature, particularly Shakespeare. (click on English Renaissance)

·    Shakespeare Searched: a search engine designed to provide quick access to passages from Shakespeare's plays and sonnets, this has received rave reviews from scholars everywhere.

·    Shakespeare on Film: A Short Research Bibliography: compiled by an instructor at the U. of New Hampshire.    

·    SHAKSPER: the Global Electronic Shakespeare Conference: home page of an international electronic conference for Shakespearean researchers, instructors and students; also features links to many other web resources on the Bard.

·       Some Versions of Hamlet: a course webpage with extensive links to links to various Hamlet texts and reviews of performances.

·    Voice of the Shuttle: renowned, gigantic, searchable database of humanities websites; look under contents for categories Literature (in English) and Literary Theory.

·   World Shakespeare Bibliography Online: comprehensive bibliography that will eventually provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare published or produced since 1900 (searchable for citations only--CSUDH does not currently subscribe)

Back to Top




California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2007 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu

E. Carol Dales /  Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator

California State University, Dominguez Hills / University Library, LIB-B-218

cdales@csudh.edu Ph: 310-243-2088                         February, 2008