LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: Resources for English 099: Developmental Reading
California State University Dominguez Hills
    
310-243-3715
Picture of Library


LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: RESOURCES FOR

Freshman Composition: ENG 111


 


Go to:| Where to start | Borrowing books | Locating Books |Journal Articles |
| Interlibrary Loan | Internet | Citing sources |


 

 


Where to start an assignment:

    • For most essay assignments, plan to investigate three basic types of information:
      1. Books
      2. Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
      3. Websites

        Back to Top




Borrowing Books:

  • To borrow books, you will need both your CSUDH photo ID with a current sticker
    AND a second photo ID.

  • Before borrowing books, read the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.

    Back to Top

 


Locating Books:

  • Use ToroFind Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) to look for books on your topic.
    * Leave out dashes and commas when you type a search into the catalog.
    * Library catalog searches are not case sensitive.

    Search with your own keywords and try to determine Subject Headings for your topic.
    Academic libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe the contents  of books and other materials list in the library catalog. For instance:
      
       * Reparations
       * African Americans - Reparations
       * Drug legalization
       * Marijuana - Law and legislation - United States
       * Illegal aliens - United States
       * Amnesty - United States

Ask Library Reference staff if you're not sure what to look under for books on your topic!

Back to Top



Locating Journal Articles:



·
 To find journal articles on a particular topic, use a special index called
    an electronic database.

•  Terms you should know before you search in electronic databases:  

DATABASE: an organized collection of information, especially electronic information such as a periodical index.

JOURNAL (also called SCHOLARLY JOURNAL): scholarly publication published for an academic audience; narrow focus, deeply researched, all articles approved before publication by a group of experts working in the same field as the author (this approval process is called peer review)

MAGAZINE: publication with popular interest articles and broad subject coverage

CITATION: the basic information you need to find or cite the full text of an article; includes article title, author's name, name of publication, date, volume & issue no. and page numbers.

ABSTRACT: a brief summary of the main content of an article.

FULL TEXT: the complete article.

Back to Top




      Recommended Electronic Databases for Essay Research:

  • Academic Search Premier: indexing, abstracts and high percentage of full text articles from
    journals in social sciences, humanities,  education, arts & literature, and ethnic studies.

  •  Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature: indexing, abstracts and high percentage of full text
    articles
    from popular publications (Time Magazine, National Geographic) as well as several scholarly
    ones such as Science.

  • ProQuest Newspapers : searches the full-text of over 500 national and international
    newspapers
    written in English, including Los Angeles Times and New York Times.

  • CQ Researcher Online: objective and balanced treatment of current issues and hot topics; each
    12,000-word report by an experienced journalist examines all sides of an issue and includes
    charts, graphs, sidebar articles as well as a chronology, extensive bibliography and a list of
    contacts.

Back to Top

 


    HOW TO FIND & LOG IN TO CSUDH LIBRARY ELECTRONIC JOURNAL INDEXES:

  • go to the Library Home Page at http://library.csudh.edu/.
  • under Find Library Materials click Journal Articles & Electronic Resources.
  • if you already know which index you want, click the "Alphabetical List" button
        (Academic Search Premier is a good database to search first).
  • if you need suggestions about which database to search, click "Subject List."
  • when you click on the title of an index to log in to, you'll see this screen:

csudhlogo

csudhlogo

csudhlogo

  Please Login in order to access the article indexes/databases:

The resources you have requested are available only to authorized CSUDH users (currently employed CSUDH faculty or staff members, or currently enrolled students).

Step 1. Please enter your last name :

Your Name:

 

 

Step 2. Please Type your barcode number (20550XXXXXXXXX) omitting spaces & letters

 

What is your barcode number : Your barcode ID number is the 14-digit number made up of 5-digit number 20550 followed by your 9-digit ID number.
Example: 20550982340006
(please do not use spaces, dashes or hyphens).

 

 

 

 




Now do a keyword search or a subject search in the database you logged into.

•  Once you are successfully logged in to a journal index, read the instructions   (Help screen) to figure out how the database works.

•  To develop an effective search, look at your topic or research question and    pick out the key words that describe what you want to find. Then think of    possible synonyms for each of the key words.    For example :
   Do video games contribute to violent behavior in children?
   

    
            

KEYWORDS

 video games

 violence

 children

 

SYNONYMS

 gaming

 aggression

 youth

Your search becomes: video games and violence and children

•  When doing a keyword search, try to find one article    that is exactly what you need.
   Look at its subject terms and re-do search with those    index (subject/controlled vocabulary) terms

•  If the journal article index has a Thesaurus or    Subject Guide, look there to find correct search    terms for your topic.

 

•  Did you find too many articles?

•  Use more specific search terms

•  Limit by language, publication, date, full text, peer reviewed.

•  Use controlled vocabulary (look in the database subject guide or thesaurus)

•  Narrow your search with AND

 

•  Did you find too few articles? None? Out-of-context?

•  Use different search terms, synonyms, alternate terms and phrases

•  Check your spelling

•  Use truncation (child* = child, child's, children and other words that begin     with child. )

•  Broaden your search by joining synonyms with OR

•  Search a different journal index

•  Ask for help!!!

Back to Top



Interlibrary Loan
(Request item from another library):

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own a specific journal or book you need:
- search LINK+ to see whether one of its member libraries has the book you need,
  Note: books requested through LINK+ usually arrive within 3 to 5 days.

or

-fill out an appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  
  and submit an electronic request.

  A print or electronic copy of the requested item will be obtained from
  another library, but may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.

        

             

   
 Back to Top


  
Internet Resources:


Google is an outstanding search engine, but unless you know exactly what you are
doing, it will lead you to millions of web pages on and hundreds of subtopics.

Three tips:

  • Google Scholar lets you search some scholarly literature, including many peer reviewed articles,  but note that you may not be able to freely access the
    full text of articles.
    For scholarly literature, the Library databases listed above are usually a better
    option for beginning your research.
  • Try Google's Advanced Search page to refine your search.
  • Be sure to evaluate any websites you plan to use in your paper.

    What to look for:
    1. Credibility (Who said this? Will the author stand behind this information?)
    2. Accuracy (Where did this come from? Does it seem correct?)
    3. Reasonableness (What kind of page is this?)
    4. Support (Who else says this?)

For a more detailed version of these guidelines, visit the CSUDH Library
"Evaluating Information You Find on the Web" page at http://library.csudh.edu/Evaluatinginfo.htm.
For more detailed evaluation criteria, try Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
(Cornell University Library) and
Evaluating Information on the Web
(Pasadena City College Library).

Back to Top




Citing Your Sources:

When you write a paper or complete a project for a class, you will usually be asked to include a bibliography ( a list of reference materials such as books and articles you used in your research). This helps interested readers locate resources you used
and helps you avoid plagiarism.

Make notes as you are doing research to keep track of sources of information you use.
Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know before you begin your research what information about each information source to gather.

Citing Your Sources: leads to a tutorial that shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.


Check with each professor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.

           Back to Top

 



California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu

Last updated 09/18/07 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088
Untitled Document