California State University Dominguez Hills
    
310-243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite
University Library    




LIBRARY INSTRUCTION: RESOURCES FOR

Developmental Reading: ENG 088 (Creation Mythologies)



      Find the English 088 page at http://library.csudh.edu/SubjectGuides/ENG088.htm

      Find the CSUDH Library Home Page at http://library.csudh.edu/

Picture of Egyptian Gods

        Need help? Contact Carol Dales - cdales@csudh.edu

Go to: | Where to start | Books | Journal Articles |
| Interlibrary Loan | Internet | Citing sources |


 


     Where to start an assignment:

  • Begin your research on the CSUDH Library home page (http://library.csudh.edu/).
  • Three basic types of information will help you complete your assignment:

    *  Books (Reference books to use in Library as well as books you can check out of the Library)
    *
     Articles from journals, magazines and newspapers (available online through Library Home Page)
    * 
    Websites (not accepted for all assignments--check with instructor)



    Back to Top



Borrowing Books:

  • To borrow books, you will need both your CSUDH photo ID with a current sticker
    AND a second photo ID.

  • Before borrowing books, read the regulations on the Circulation /Borrowing Books page.

    Back to Top

 


         Locating Books:


          ü     
Use ToroFind Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) .

ü       Use either your own keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings
      to look for
books on your topic.
      
Libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe the contents
      of books and other materials list in the library catalog.
      For instance:

ü     Indian mythology-Mexico,  Indian Mythology- Central America,  
     Indian Mythology- North America, etc.

ü     Maya mythology

ü      Mayas - religion

ü     Indians of Central America - religion

ü       Mythology  African

ü     Mythology Sub-Saharan African

ü      
Africa - Religion

ü     Creation - comparative studies

ü   Folklore Latin America

Leave out the dashes and commas when you type a search into the catalog.

Ask Library Reference staff if you're not sure what to look under for your topic!

Back to Top



           Locating Journal Articles:



·
 To find journal articles on a particular topic, use a special index called
    an electronic database.

•  Terms to know before you search in electronic databases:  

DATABASE: an organized collection of information, especially electronic information.

JOURNAL (also called SCHOLARLY JOURNAL): scholarly publication published for an academic audience; narrow focus, deeply researched, all articles approved before publication by a group of experts working in the same field as the author (this approval process is called peer review)

MAGAZINE: publication with popular interest articles and broad subject coverage

CITATION: the basic information you need to find or cite the full text of an article; includes article title, author's name, name of publication, date, volume & issue no. and page numbers.

ABSTRACT: a brief summary of the main content of an article

FULL TEXT: the complete article

Back to Top




     
          Recommended Electronic Databases for Your Research on Creation Myths:

§    Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature: indexing, abstracts and high percentage of full text     articles from popular publications (Time Magazine, National Geographic) and scholarly ones such
    as Archaeology.

§  Academic Search Premier: indexing, abstracts and high percentage of full text articles from      journals in social sciences, humanities,  education, arts & literature, and ethnic studies.

§       Humanities Full-Text: covers 1984 to date; includes indexing, abstracts and selected full text in
     Archaeology, Art, Classical Studies, Folklore, History, Philosophy, Religion and Theology     
    (all could be useful for a mythology project); contains selected full text from 1995-date.

Back to Top
 


    HOW TO FIND & LOG IN TO CSUDH LIBRARY ELECTRONIC JOURNAL INDEXES:

  • Go to the Library Home Page at http://library.csudh.edu/.
  •  Under Find Library Materials, click Journal Articles & Electronic Resources.
  • If you already know which index you want, click the "Alphabetical List." button
    (Academic Search Premier is a good database to search first).
  • If you need suggestions about which database to search, click "Subject List."
  • When you click on the title of an index to log in to, you'll see this login screen:

Please Login in order to access the article indexes/databases:

The resources you have requested are available only to authorized CSUDH users (currently employed CSUDH faculty or staff members, or currently enrolled students).

Step 1. Please enter your last name :

Your Name:

 

 

Step 2. Please Type your barcode number (20550XXXXXXXXX) omitting spaces & letters:

 


What is your barcode number : Your barcode ID number is the 14-digit number made up of 5-digit number 20550 followed by your 9-digit ID number.
Example: 20550982340006
(please do not use spaces, dashes or hyphens).

Start Over

 

 




Do a keyword search or a subject search in the database you logged into.

•  Did you find too many articles?

•  Use more specific search terms.

•  Limit by language, publication, date, full text, peer reviewed.

•  Use controlled vocabulary (look in the database subject guide or thesaurus).

•  Narrow your search with AND.

 

•  Did you find too few articles? None? Out-of-context?

•  Use different search terms, synonyms, alternate terms and phrases.

•  Check your spelling.

•  Use truncation (child* = child, child's, children and other words that begin
    with child).

•  Broaden your search by joining synonyms and additional search terms with OR.

•  Search in a different journal index.

•  Ask a Librarian for help!!!

Back to Top


Interlibrary Loan
(ILL - Request item from another library)

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own a specific journal or book you need,
you can submit an electronic request
by
filling out the appropriate online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  


-
the Library will obtain electronic or print copy of the item you requested, but
  it may take as long as 7 to 14 days to arrive.

Note: books you request through LINK+ usually arrive within 3 to 5 days.

             

    Back to Top



         Selected Internet Resources

·         Bulfinch's Mythology: Full text of a well known 19th-century summary of Greek and
      Roman mythology.

·       Encyclopedia Mythica: Online encyclopedia of mythology

·     Online Books about Creation Mythology: Collection of electronic books
      maintained at the University of Pennsylvania


Remember to evaluate any websites you plan to use in your paper
(for help, visit the CSUDH Library page at http://library.csudh.edu/Evaluatinginfo.htm )

 

Back to Top




    Citing Your Sources

When you write a paper or complete a project for a class, you will be asked to include
a bibliography (list of reference materials such as books and articles you used in your
research).


Make notes as you are doing research to keep track of sources of information you use.

Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know before you begin
your research what information about each information source to gather. The Guide will
also show you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.


Check with each instructor to find out which citation format to use for papers in that class.


           Back to Top

 


California State University, Dominguez Hills . 1000 E. Victoria Street . Carson, California 90747 . (310) 243-3696. 
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved.  If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu

Last updated 02/18/08 by E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088
Untitled Document