CSUDH Library and Information Resources for
Communication Theory & Research (COM 400)
Prepared by:Caroline Bordinaro, Librarian
cbordinaro@csudh.edu (310)243-2084
Go to: Finding Books |
Finding
Websites | Library Guides
Finding Journal Articles
- Communication & Mass Media Complete*: provides the
best quality research, and is an invaluable resource for students,
researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication
and mass media. (scroll down on the EBSCO screen to log on to this database.)
- Humanities Full Text*: provides complete content -
indexing, abstracts, and full text. Scroll down list to find database name.
These are databases are not specifically communication-related, but they are
very good for general information on studies and current news :
- Academic Search Premier*
- ProQuest Databases*
- OmniFile Full Text Mega* : from Wilson, select specific
discipline in subject box or search multiple subjects.
- JSTOR: Peer reviewed journal articles on a wide range of
Humanities subjects.
*To limit search to peer-reviewed journals only, look for check box next to
Peer-Reviewed, Scholarly Journals, or Academic Journals on database search
screen (may be in Advanced Search)
Search Tips:
- Try Advanced Search for more search options
- Always use the Print and Save functions embedded within the screen. It is
usually not a good idea to use the File-Print or File-Save As functions in the
upper left hand corner of the browser.
- Use the online HELP screens - they really are helpful!
BONUS!! Try our new SEARCH
TUTORIAL and tell us how you liked it! Send comments to Jeff Broude,
librarian at jbroude@csudh.edu.
Finding Books in the library
Go to TOROFIND: the CSUDH Library Catalog and
search on the title, author, subject or keyword. Look not only for that specific
call number, but also check out the books in that section.
- If you don't see the right item listed, or want more titles, try an
on a few
keywords (in separate boxes).
- If you still don't find the right book, ask a reference librarian.
Finding quality websites
These are indexes to quality web sites that have been reviewed by librarians.
The sites have been checked for accuracy, timiliness, stabilty, and will
generally conform to the standards of academic research. However, please be
judicious in the use of websites in general, because anybody can put anything on
the web.
For more detailed help, download
our LIBRARY GUIDES (.doc format) :
Created by C. Bordinaro, CSUDH librarian 7/16/07