California State University Dominguez Hills
    
310-243-3715
Picture of Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Webisite

University Library    




CSUDH Library and Information Resources for COM 300

Organizational Communications

For assistance, contact: E. Carol Dales (310-243-2088)

 









Go to: Books | Journal Articles | ThesaurusSpecific Article | Electronic Books
| Interlibrary Loan | Citing sources | Website Evaluation and Useful Websites |



Getting Started


Finding B
ooks



Finding Journal Articles

To find journal articles when you don't already have a specific citation or reference to an article, try using one of the journal article indexes.

To use CSUDH databases off campus: 

1.  You must be a current CSUDH student, faculty member or staff member.

2.  Adobe Acrobat Reader software (v. 7.0 or later) must be installed on your computer.
      Many articles are available only in .pdf (portable document format) format,
      and you need Adobe Acrobat Reader to read and/or print them.
      Get Adobe Acrobat Reader free at http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

  • For detailed information on how to log in to CSUDH Electronic databases, click here.
  • For an overview of how to use CSUDH databases to find journal articles, click here.
  • Many of your search results will have clickable links to the full text of the article, such as "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text."
  • This button Check Article Availability at CSUDH will also appear in many search results. Click this blue button
    to see whether the CSUDH Library has the article in a different database or in print/microfilm formats.

  • To limit your results to peer reviewed articles, look on the database screen for the
    words "scholarly" and/or "peer reviewed" and place a check in the box beside these words.

    (click here for a quick tutorial on the differences between newspapers, magazines and journals--
    --click the red "What's a Journal?" volume on the "Minute Modules" page )


  • Click on a link below to access the database of your choice or use our comprehensive list of
    Article Indexes
    to see all available CSUDH databases:
    • Business Source Premier: most comprehensive database for searching scholarly business publications; includes full text articles for more 1,100 scholarly publications.
      All areas related to business are covered.

    • Communication & Mass Media Complete: includes full text of many articles on business writing, communication in organizations and other communication topics.

    • ABI Inform Business Global: searches over 1,800 business journals for coverage on business and economic conditions, management techniques and theory, advertising, marketing, human resources and more.

    • ABI Inform Trade & Industry: covers more than 750 magazines and newsletters with
      a trade or industry focus; includes latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, etc.

    • Academic Search Premier: multi-disciplinary database with full text for nearly 4,500 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed journals; often used as a starting point for general research because it covers a wide range of subject areas.

    • Ethnic NewsWatch: newspaper, magazine and journal and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press; often offers additional perspectives because of the unique resources it indexes.


      Back to top



Thesaurus (locates correct subject headings to use in your search):     
        

    • Locate a Thesaurus button, check box or link on the screen (it may also be called
      "Subject Headings" or "Subject Index", depending on the database you are using.
      )
    • Type a word or phrase for which you would like to identify a subject heading
      into the appropriate box.
    • Sometimes you can click on the suggested search term to see a note that defines the term
      as it is used in the database, as well as a list of narrower, broader and related terms.

    • Either copy down useful subject headings or cut and paste them into the
      search screen where you are entering your search.

      Back to top


Finding a Specific Journal Article or Journal Title

If you have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, or if you want find out if the CSUDH Library subscribes to a journal you need, use the CSUDH Journals List.
This list includes both print and online journals to which the Library has subscribed in the past and currently subscribes to (the CSUDH Library currently subscribes to over 25,000 journals online!).

For more detailed help finding a known article, visit our Find a Specific Article tutorial.

Back to top



Electronic Books

Check the Electronic Books page for links to databases such as Ebrary that offer access to many scholarly and popular books you can read entirely online, such as:    

  • Communicate to Win
    by Richard Denny (2006)
  • Make the Connection: Improve your Communication at Work and at Home
    by Steve Adubato
       (2006)
  • Corporate Communications: Theory and Practice
    by Joep Cornelissen (2004)
  • Concise Adair on Communication and Presentation Skills
    by Jon Adair (2003)
  • On the Art of Writing Copy
    by Herschell Gordon Lewis (1999)
  • Writing Business Proposals and Reports: Key Strategies for Success
    by Susan Brock (1992)

 


Interlibrary Loan

    If the CSUDH Library does NOT own in any form a specific journal, magazine or book that you need:

      - use the online ILL form at http://library.csudh.edu/ill.htm  to submit an electronic request.

               A print or electronic copy of that article will be obtained from another library and
               emailed to you, but it may take 7 days or more longer to arrive.
               Note: books requested through LINK+ usually arrive at CSUDH Library within 2 to 4 days!

              OR

   - go to the Library Online Catalogs and Information page to look for holdings at other
         academic libraries you can visit in person (such as other CSU libraries).    
  
    
   Back to Top




Citing Your Sources

When writing a paper or completing a project for a class, you will usually be asked to provide a bibliography of the materials that you used.
Take a look at the Library's Citation Guide in advance so you'll know what information about each information source to write down before you begin your research.
It is much more difficult (sometimes impossible!) to retrace your steps than to make note cards as you are working to keep track of sources of information you use while doing your research.

The CSUDH LIbrary web page, How to Cite Your Sources in a Research Paper, has two links:
The first link takes you to a download page for the Adobe Acrobat Reader, which you will need
to access the actual web page.
The second link leads to a document that shows you how to cite books, articles, and web resources in APA, MLA, and Turabian formats.
To cite references in COM 300 papers and assignments, use APA
(American Psychological Association) style.

For further information on APA citation style:


Back to top




Website Evaluation

  • You might have seen a cartoon published in the New Yorker magazine (July 5, 1993) that shows
    two dogs sitting in front of a computer screen; one dog says to the other, "On the Internet, nobody
    knows you're a dog."
  • Remember: anyone can post anything on the Web , which leaves it up to you to determine the authorship, validity, timeliness, and integrity of every page you find before you cite it as a source in your academic
    work or make decisions based on the information it contains (be especially carefully with
    search results from the online encyclopedia Wikipedia !)
  • For more help evaluating web pages, visit this excellent series of pages on this subject maintained by librarians at Johns Hopkins University: Evaluating Information Found on the Internet .

Useful Websites


Back to top






Last updated 06/05/07 by
E. Carol Dales
Library Distance Learning Instruction & Services Coordinator
California State University, Dominguez Hills
(310) 243-2088