(310) 243-3715 |
||
![]() |
|
CSUDH University Library Information Resources for COM 250 - Writing for the Media |
|
Prepared by Valeria E. Molteni vmolteni@csudh.edu -
(310) 243-3184 |
Define the topic: Try to be specific
Define keywords: You do not need to include the article and the prepositions
Example: Your topic is "Minority Students in the High School System in California"
Keywords: MINORITY STUDENTS - HIGH SCHOOL - CALIFORNIA
Multi-disciplinary Databases:
Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition dramatically expands your periodical resources with electronic access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources (Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications). Coverage back as early as 1982 ensures that every search is as deep as it is broad. Users have access to information on virtually any subject.
Lexis Nexis It is a leading provider of comprehensive information and business solutions to professionals in a variety of areas—legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting and academic.
JSTOR JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
General Library Hours (Holiday , summer and intersession hours posted)
• Monday - Thursday: 7 a.m.- 10 p.m.
• Friday: 7 a.m.- 5 p.m.
• Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
• Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.
Reference Desk Hours ( 310- 243-3715 )
• Monday -Thursday: 8 a.m.- 10 p.m.
• Friday: 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.
• Saturday: 10 a.m.- 5 p.m .
• Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.