Integrating Library Services and Resources into Your
Blackboard Course
For assistance, contact:
This site is designed to help you enhance your course by integrating
library resources,
services, and information literacy materials into your Blackboard page. Please contact
Wei Ma or Naomi Moy for questions or assistance with placing materials in Blackboard.
|
|
| |
|
| |
Registering as a CSUDH Faculty Library user
- To access the Library's subscription databases from off-campus, you will need a registered library card.
- Take your CSUDH faculty photo ID to the Library Circulation Department on the
2nd floor of the library.
|
|
| |
Journal Articles
Required or supplementary articles for your course can be placed in Blackboard by including the article links. When you already have a reference or citation to a specific journal article, find out if the Library has the journal article you would like to place in your Blackboard course by consulting the CSUDH Journals List.
When you find a citation to the article, click on the link for the citation and try to find and copy the "persistent link to this record " or "stable URL" or "DOI" which are often found near the bottom of the page. The persistent link should be used instead of the URL in the address bar. The address that you copy in the address bar may be unstable and cause the article to disappear within the day. In order to have remote access available to your students, please be sure the URL you copy contains "torofind.csudh.edu". Please check to make sure your links work. If you need assistance, please contact Naomi Moy or Wei Ma. For more detailed help finding a known article, visit the Find a Specific Article tutorial.
Back to Top
|
|
| |
Databases and Indexes to Articles
You can create links to specific articles databases to assist students in finding articles for your course. Please use the links provided in the CSUDH Library website so that students can authenticate into the databases with their student ID information. Users will be asked to provide their CSUDH barcode ID numbers in order to access these databases.
Back to Top
|
|
| |
Books
Use the Library's ToroFind catalog to search for books by author, title or subject. You can link the cataloging record to books, such as a book placed on reserve. The Library asks that students go to the Circulation/Reserves desk with a call number to be able to have materials quickly retrieved, and this is one way of providing students with needed information prior to arriving in the Library..
It is also possible to find books in our eBrary and NetLibrary collections of online books and place the link to the book in your Blackboard. You and your students will be asked to provide your barcode ID number in order to access the books in the online collections.
-
ToroFind: CSUDH Online Catalog is the catalog of books held by the CSUDH library. Records for individual titles or results lists for books on specific topics may be placed into your Blackboard course page.
-
eBrary is a collection of over 32,000 books selected for the academic library. If the student registers on the eBrary site, s/he will be able to establish a personal Bookshelf to make notes and highlight text stored under username for subsequent use. Readers must download an eBrary reader in order to use the books in this collection.
-
NetLibrary includes books selected for the CSU libraries, including reference books. This sites allows only one user at a time to view each title. To add a NetLibrary title, click on "Show Details" and use the url that appears in the address bar.
Back to Top
|
|
| |
Library Subject Research Guides
CSUDH librarians have prepared research guides for different subjects as well as specific courses. These provide students with tips and guidance for getting started on their research and usually include a list of specific databases and other resources. Please select a guide from the Subject Guides by Major or Course page. If you do no see a subject guide that meets your needs, please contact your library liason to request a custom page. For distance learning courses, instructors may wish to also include our page for Services for CSUDH Distance Learning and Extended Education Students.
Back to Top |
|
| |
Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions
Faculty members maintain responsibility for providing materials on Blackboard within the copyright laws. It is your responsibility to upload and then remove copyrighted Blackboard items from your Blackboard each semester. Faculty using any copyrighted item for consecutive semesters or for multiple sections by different instructors during the same semester generally must obtain copyright permission. If your materials do not fall under the fair use guidelines, use the Copyright Clearance Center at http://www.copyright.com.
The Library complies with copyright law ( U.S. Copyright Act of 1976, 90 Stat 2541 ). When copying materials for reserve, the library follows provisions of the "fair use" section (Section 107) and considers the factors laid out in that section:
a) The purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes. b) The nature of the copyrighted work. c) The amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole. d) The effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyright work.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research. If electronic transmission of reserve materials is used for purposes in excess of what constitutes "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
Back to Top
|
|
| |
California State University, Dominguez Hills • 1000 E. Victoria Street • Carson, California 90747 • (310) 243-3696.
Copyright ©2006 CSUDH. All rights reserved. If any of the material is in violation of a copyright,
please contact copyright@csudh.edu .
Last updated 04/23/07 by Naomi Moy and Wei Ma. |