California State University Dominguez Hills
    
  (310) 243-3715
Picture of Library
University Library
Library Main PageLibrary Website IndexSearch Library Website



 

Information Resources for AFS 306 - Research Methods in AFS

Prepared by Valeria E. Molteni vmolteni@csudh.edu - (310) 243-3184
February 2008 Photos by R. Downs

 

Types of Information sources

 

Books Catalog

 

Databases

 

Journals

 

Literature Review

 

Newspapers

 

Evaluation of Internet

 

Searching on Internet

 

Plagiarism

 

Citation styles

 

 

 

 

How to search: Search Options

 

Define the topic: Try to be specific

Define keywords: You do not need to include the article and the prepositions

Example: Your topic is "The role of the Black Church during the segregation era"

Keywords: BLACK CHURCH - SEGREGATION

DATABASES

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.

CQ Researcher Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Opposing Viewpoints Virtual library of resources to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues. The database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Full text coverage begins from varies years with the earliest from January 1993 to present.

JSTOR JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

Specific Databases

The Oxford African American Studies Center: Provides more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field.

SocIndex (Sociology Research Database) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Antrosource Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. 

ERIC (Education) ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. 

 

General Library Hours (Holiday , summer and intersession hours posted)

•  Monday - Thursday: 7 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 7 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.

Reference Desk Hours ( 310- 243-3715 )

•  Monday -Thursday: 8 a.m.- 10 p.m.

•  Friday: 8 a.m.- 5 p.m.

•  Saturday: 10 a.m.- 5 p.m .

•  Sunday: 12 Noon - 6 p.m.